in which social networks are used but not always understood

Posted: July 23, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

My other hobby blog Failure To Land has been languishing for the better part of two years, and even when I was trying to put some effort in I was doing at best a couple posts a month. And so it went.

Last week, after one of my regular fits of bemoaning the fact that my writing muse had gone AWOL and I was wallowing in a stagnant puddle of Instagram snapshots and Facebook blurbs, something snapped and I banged out the rest of a draft I’d been sitting on for ages but had never found a way to finish. And the floodgates opened. Suddenly I was Posty McWriterson. Drafts came together. Ideas bubbled. I even created a Twitter account and Facebook page for the blog, and I felt like I was finally putting in some effort to do something with my writing, even if only to see if I could do it.

The social network bit was a puzzler though. Facebook has always been a thing for seeing what my friends and family are doing and sharing my own events. Twitter… well, I’ve never really gotten the hang of Twitter. I’ve burned through 3 accounts and always just kind of flailed around, mystified at how someone can collect 12,000 followers by explicitly live-tweeting their lunch experience. But as a marketing tool, it makes a bit more sense. People want to feel part of something, so you give them that interaction. But to make it work, of Facebook pages for that matter, you do seem to have to whore yourself out a bit, and that is definitely not my strong suit. I’m much more of a “work quietly and let people take notice by the quality of your work” kind of person, and frankly, that is not how the internet works.

At all.

Comments
  1. Chantal says:

    What’s up, I log on to your new stuff daily. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

