return to sender

Posted: July 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

After more than 5 years of being an Australian resident, I’m on my way back to the US to try my hand in Los Angeles for a while. The end of August will bring the end of one of the more interesting chapters in my life, but I feel like the possibilities are infinitely more interesting this time around from when I left.

Just in the act of packing, I’m amazed at how much more prepared I am in my life for change and upheaval. When I landed in Sydney in December of 2007, I had a mountain of luggage with me; this time, I’ll be struggling to fill up a suitcase to last me the 2 months until the rest of my belongings arrive by the almost glacially slow barge shipment (the idea of waiting 3 months for anything these days, let alone my own possessions, feels positively primeval). Once again I’ll be landing in unknown territory, but rather than being weighed by the crush of uncertainty, I feel impressively free.

The fact that I have been given carte blanche by my boss to work where I want plays no small part in this. The fact that it’s even an option is almost hard for me to accept, and the possibilities it may open are something I’ve barely let myself consider. Nonetheless, this is a good start.

As for Los Angeles itself, I’m wary but I feel I have nothing to lose. I’ve never considered LA a goal to spend much time in, but from my last trip with Liesel I was given a perspective I’d never had on the city, and if I’m going, I’m glad to be going with her. I honestly don’t know anyone else more suited for LA, and I think she can help me see the finer side of America’s marketing department.

Comments
  1. my sources says:

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

