movin’ on up

Posted: June 28, 2012 in Personal

After almost four years in the same place, I’m in the process of moving again. There are many mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, the move is barely a move, it’s just a relocation down the road. Through unlikely odds Adrian and I, having decided we could continue to tolerate each other for a while longer, applied for and got an apartment in Neutral Bay with nice balconies, plenty of room, and a fairly ridiculous view from the private rooftop patio. This was not just on a whim mind you, most moves after four years of wearing an ass groove in the sofa aren’t; our current place had been put up for sale, and rather than wait around for us to be suddenly evicted, we decided to get the whole thing over with. So not only will we be able to put the weekend parades of prospective investors poking through our place and silently judging our choice in bed linens behind us, but we’re moving into a nice, quiet place with lots of room to get drunk and sunburnt in the summertime.

On the other hand, it is of course still moving. While I have through some miracle managed to largely avoid the curse of suburban possession bloat, I still have to pack everything I own again and shuttle it into the next suburb. Adrian on the other hand has had to confront his chronic inability to get rid of anything and has so far spent at least two days wading through drifts of old mail, pieces of forgotten clothing, and various unidentifiable plastic things that may or may not have once been crucially integral to a toaster.

After my move to Australia, in which I went from a somewhat over-stuffed 2-bedroom bungalow to 20 boxes to my name, I’ve found the process of moving now feels as liberating as it does frustrating. It prompts me to re-assess everything I own, to look it over and really consider whether it still has any value to me, or whether it ever did, and more importantly whether I actually want to carry it up four flights of stairs. Moving also tends to shake things up a bit for me, which seems to be a theme lately. I think this really couldn’t have come at a better time.

Leave a Reply

