size doesn’t matter

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

For a city of 20+ million people, Sydney can be incredibly small. Smaller still in the northern suburbs, where it seems everyone went to school with everyone else, and nobody has strayed too far from home, at least not for long. Dating Liesel, I’ve almost stopped introducing her to people I know because odds are she already grew up with them and knows their entire life story. It’s like I’ve entered one of the very tight social orbits of the city and suddenly I find it has its own whole solar system.

One issue I’ve hit in the past I’m hitting again with my writing now that I’m trying to increase my output: just how much I’m willing to write about myself and others. I’ve never been very willing to write about the inner workings of my life on the internet, both for my own sake and for others. I guess I’ll have to judge just how comfortable I am with that as I go, and whether I think it’s something worth developing. Writing must be honest, but the internet can be a mindlessly vindictive witness.

Comments
  1. Susan Lehner says:

    Glad to see you back at it, my dear boy.

Leave a Reply

