An immovable object and an unstoppable force

Posted: April 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

After so many weekends of what I can only describe as anxious restlessness, this one has been strangely inert. While part of it I’m sure was due to the fact that I was feeling less than 100%, I think I have to largely chalk it up to the weather taking a turn for the cold and gloomy the past few days. This, coupled with flannel sheets, new Xbox games, and the first season of 3rd Rock From The Sun left me perfectly happy to plant myself at home for a bit. Not to mention the fact that Kat will be here for the long weekend on Friday, which means plenty of other fun to be had shortly.

On an unrelated note, a conversation earlier in the week about alternative Chinese medicines and their questionable benefit caught me a bit by surprise when I realized that I was arguing against the skeptic I used to be. I’m not certain exactly when it may have happened, but over the last 10 years or so I have gone from requiring scientific rigor in all things before I will accept them to allowing that there are many things I, or for that matter anyone, do not know and that the effect ultimately is more important to me than the cause when it comes to things like my health. In a greater sense, I am no longer unwilling to appreciate and accept the unknown in my life. Not to say I embrace it, but I’m no longer afraid of it, something I think everyone can benefit from.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Totally hear you on the inert weekend with the change of weather – saturday I didn’t event get out of bed properly until after midday, and I’ve been napping wrapped with blankets and hot tea the rest of the time. As for the conversation about Chinese medicines, I have to say it was fascinating watching you and R go at it, and I totally subscribe to your attitude 🙂 not just on the science of medicine bit – massages helping me get over flu and cold quicker /does/ work! – but chilling out about unknowns. It makes life far more enjoyable.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Alternative Chinese medicine…I come across that term a lot whenever I compile information about biodiversity woes. I wish more than anything that they stick to herbal medicine and quit with the animal parts. Next time I read about attempts to increase fertility I think I’ll brain myself on the nearest hard surface -_-

    • Anonymous says:

      Ya, frankly I can’t really get behind any fertility treatments these days, let alone ones made of ground animals. Especially since those are always the ones that require the endangered kind.

      • Anonymous says:

        Yeah what’s with that? Why can’t ground up cane toad ever be good for anything? It always has to be that one creature that breeds slowly, requires masses of land for territory, and is extremely rare. Don’t even get me started on bear bile.

      • Anonymous says:

        Trust me, I wouldn’t start anyone on bear bile.

Leave a Reply

