Things to come

Posted: November 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve been getting increasingly restless in the past weeks, feeling a growing urge to really and properly do something with myself rather than just sit idly twiddling my thumbs between journeys, counting days on the couch. The fact that my shoulder is still slowly healing means I have to lean more on the creative side, which is a mixed blessing; it’s something I’d like to be better at, but is not by my nature something I’m really fulfilled by. Frustrating.

On the subject of travel, I headed to the Travel / Backpackers Expo in Town Hall yesterday, and while most of it was booths on how to get drunk and bungee jump in Cairns, there were a few groups on Africa and one that booked trips to Antarctica, which re-engaged my thinking about visiting my last remaining continents on my tick list (I will not call it a ‘bucket list’, I don’t care how endearing Jack Nicholson was in some damn movie). One group in particular caught my eye: a guide group that takes parties to the summit of Mt. Kilimanjaro, the highest peak on the continent, but no more than a very long class 4 trek. So, it’s on my list for something to consider for next year. Antarctica can wait a while longer.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    i like the idea of a cruise to Antarctica. I saw an add for one in some travel thinger i had. it is totally on my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

