Noodling

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

I finally got to the Noodle Markets last night in Hyde Park before it ends this weekend, and I have to say I’ve never been so overwhelmed by food choices. There were easily 30 different food booths, all smelling amazing, but all with lines of 20-30 people each, which meant that there was no room for last-minute changes of heart. If you saw someone walking away from another booth with something that looked like your life and stomach would be incomplete without, it was too late. Once you chose a line, you were committed for the long haul. Luckily I chose wisely and came away with some magical combo of pad thai, hokkien noodles in vegetables, and a couple pan-fried fishcakes. I camped out on the grass and devoured it, regretting only that my stomach had limited room.

Meantime, while I haven’t been strictly adhering to my daily photo project, I’ve done pretty well with it, and been quite pleased with the results. It’s made me not only look closer at the things around me for interesting things to capture out of ordinary daily life, but also work on my photography skills (well, my fancy point-and-shoot camera skills). And really, photos on a deadline seem to work much better for me than writing on a deadline, for obvious reasons of course, but also because I’m better at accepting less-than-ideal results with my photos, something I have struggled with my entire life.

(speaking of which, today’s LJ icon is for Kat, who gives awesome advice)

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    HOORAY!

    I don’t know why you’re so amazing, but I don’t question these things. 😉

Leave a Reply

