Today on “Messin With Your Childhood”

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, I’ve had this idea for a while now that Sesame Street is ripe for a re-interpretation. I won’t pretend that I’m the first person to think of this, especially since the whole idea was sparked by this photo from I believe a past ComiCon. And now today, I see this in my newsfeed, which is even closer to my idea.

What I have in mind specifically is this: Sesame Street is not in fact the idyllic place we see on TV. Instead, the Sesame Street we know is the mental interpretation of a child living in a post-apocolyptic city. These playful visions are simply the re-interpretations of the people, animals, and predators that now stalk the desolate, empty city streets that are being slowly reclaimed by the latest incarnation of nature. Big Bird is a large ostrich-like creature that has reverted somewhat to its dinosaur roots, notable by the bits of remaining yellow plumage. Snuffalupagus is a small form of mammoth that migrates south during the bitter winters. Oscar the Grouch is a nasty dog/rat-like thing, usually found scavanging in the piles of garbage drifted into corners and alleys. The Count is a local crazy, always draped in a purple blanket, who constantly mumbles numbers and counts everything in sight. The only hint of the Sesame Street we know is the shapes of familiar characters in the child’s crayon drawings of the world around them.

I really wish I could draw, because I’d love to make a comic or art series out of it. Instead, it will have to just live in my head.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I love this idea.

    • Anonymous says:

      I’m glad it’s not just me then! It may be just as well that I don’t get Sesame Street here, because I’d just be watching it to interpret what all the characters would be like in “real life”.

Leave a Reply

