The holiday that barely was

Posted: September 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Despite my best efforts, work has been clinging to my personal life more and more lately. I think it’s the price I pay for bargaining with the corporate devil; I can work from home on occasion, but it does not mean that day is mine. If I do a deal to split my vacation time with some work in exchange for some of my expenses being picked up, odds are I will still be doing some work the whole time. I’ve come to realize the curse of the Blackberry and the lure of the flashing red “new message” light.

But I’m still getting to do lots of things I wouldn’t normally, and thanks to my friends, I barely have to drop a cent on them, which really kind of invalidates any complaining I may do. And for all that work tenaciously shadows me, I still make sure to draw a line. But for my next holiday, I’m damn well taking a proper vacation.

Leave a Reply

