Uprooted

Posted: July 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

“The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind; the kind that blindside you at 4pm on some idle Tuesday.”

– Mary Schmich, Chicago Tribune

It was already sort of there; a kind of nebulous idea had formed of what long-term effect my father’s actions had on me personally. The selfish aspect of parental infidelity. But today, quietly, from nowhere, it put itself into a few simple words: I no longer have a family. I have family members, sure. Both my parents, my dad’s parents, aunts, uncles, cousins. Still there. But any cohesiveness is gone. People chose sides or kept away completely. Communication evaporated from all directions, including mine. Already distant relations now strangers. Ties quietly and passively severed.

I guess this is one of the disillusionments of adulthood.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I met this realisation quite some time ago, as a child/early teen. I still call family members ‘family’ when speaking with other people, or explaining something about Denmark etc… anyway… yep, I live a different situation from yours, but I can relate.

  2. Anonymous says:

    family shows up when you meet and choose them (IMHO) I am family. Not going anywhere, no matter what untill you through me from your life forcibly, no matter how far away, or what is going on.

Leave a Reply

