I’ve just seen a face

Posted: July 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, about a year ago I got a notice that someone had started following my LJ. Normally this is nothing to really take much notice of, except a) I don’t exactly have a huge readership, b) I had no idea who this person was, and c) they appeared to be a real person and not a Russian spambot. Looking through their journal entries and profile info we seemed pretty compatible, but the clincher? This person was female and showed indications of being cute.

I’d gotten the attention of an internet unicorn. Naturally, I politely added her blog in return and made no sudden movements.

Not much really amounted from this until recently, when on a whim we exchanged more contact info. And with that spark, fire spread fast. We chatted online nearly every day, and quickly discovered we were startlingly compatible, except for one very noticeable thing: she’s in Melbourne. But after weeks of testing the waters, I decided I was due for a trip to Melbourne and booked a flight and hotel for a weekend, mostly on the pretext of visiting my friends Sam and Gareth. Two weeks ago I flew down, and she met me at the metro train station. From there we went to dinner in Chinatown. And we didn’t let each other out of our sight until I went back home three days later. We met up again the following weekend in Canberra, and have since been busily scheduling weekend trips with a sort of muted urgency, cautiously prodding this remarkable thing we’ve stumbled upon but buzzing subtly with an electric current of excitement. Bit by bit, making bigger plans and upping the voltage, letting things grow on their own terms.

Really, this is my first time dating someone since I left the US some 2 1/2 years ago. If anything, it just confirms why. I’d rather wait for something great.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    *THUMBS UP*

    Very happy for you 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    yah! this is so exciting and romantic

  3. Anonymous says:

    This is such FUN news! I’m so excited for you. 🙂 But, I’ll keep my urgency…. muted. In the spirit of your post. ;p

    ENJOY!

  4. Anonymous says:

    AT LAST there is a woman brilliant enough to not only catch your attention but hold it. I am so so so so so so so so glad to read this post. sending love Happiness and all that good stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

