So that happened

Posted: June 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Had a conversation with my boss today, pretty much confirming 2 things I’d been expecting:

1) I’m getting a raise and maybe a promotion, but the raise is a measly 3%
2) In 12 to 18 months, they will want me to leave Australia to stay in my current job.

The caveats to this:
– It needs to be based on or near one of our offices
– It needs to be a “cheap” region (ie. so they can pay me as little as possible)
– I can work remotely as long as I can keep my work level up to par, which means living in Portland is an option, but on a Eugene salary
– They will not pay for any travel expenses if I work remotely for when I need to come into the office

I expressed my intent to use my long service leave before I move back rather than lose it, and was assured I’d be able to hold onto it one way or another, however part of the assurance was, “You can just keep it in credit and use it as a day here and there, for long weekends and such.” While I like holding onto it, chipping away at it kind of defeats the purpose. I think I’ve gotten very far from the American approach to time off work.

Surprisingly, this feels kind of bittersweet. While my social scene here is extremely minimal, being physically out of commission the past 6 months, and looking at more of the same for the next 6, is pretty disheartening considering all the things I was starting to finally explore; kayaking, surfing, scuba diving, things that are now on a finite timescale. I hate feeling rushed with getting into new things. Of course those friendships I have made or are rapidly growing will be as hard to leave behind as the ones I left some 2 1/2 years ago. And there’s also the fact that I’m getting paid quite nicely here, giving me a lot of freedom that will dry up back in the US.

So for the moment, all I can really do is get in everything I can. All the visiting, all the trips, all the exploring, all the sports my condition will allow. Although, getting Residency status seems like a very good backup right now, which I think I’ll be pursuing. It’s too good an option to let expire.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    In 12 to 18 months, they will want me to leave Australia to stay in my current job.

    😦

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wow. Big news!

    The timelimit is frustrating, I can understand that aspect, but there’ll be plenty of stuff that you’ll be able to do, as your shoulder gets better… I wouldn’t think about your healing in terms of limitations on your overall ability to explore. Life’s exciting; it’s what you make of it. Go SpeedRacer! 😉

Leave a Reply

