Despairing deja vous

Posted: May 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

Every weekday around 4PM, I find myself sitting at my desk staring at my screens, and notice movement out of the corner of my eye over my right shoulder. And every weekday, it’s my co-worker standing in the same spot, backpack over his shoulder, going home for the day. Every weekday we say the same goodbye, except Fridays, where we wish each other a good weekend. And every weekday I turn back to my monitors and for a moment wonder at all the things I could’ve been doing that day other than the exact same thing I did the day before.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Nice. Engaging.

    You gonna do anything about the wondering..?

    • Anonymous says:

      For now, I’ll plan for the weekends and my next journeys abroad. If work wasn’t monotonous, they wouldn’t have to pay us to do it.

      • Anonymous says:

        No kidding. I try to avoid thinking of the other things I could have been doing, and instead think of the things I am able to do with my other hours as a result of sacrificing some of my time to the monotony. That sentence is a monster, but it’s pretty much the same as what you just said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

