Counting the days

Posted: April 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

This evening my roommate went on a desperate hunt to find a photo he suspected someone had posted of him on Facebook to remove any trace of himself from it. When he found it, it turned out to be a fairly unremarkable photo of him singing karaoke with some people dancing in the foreground, even kind of nicely capturing a group of friends enjoying themselves. He railed against the person that had posted it, claiming it was an invasion of his privacy. I pointed out that this photo was taken in a pub down the street where people we both know go all the time, and he was doing nothing outrageous. He countered that when he went out on the weekend, he wants to have a good time, let loose, but forget about it later. There was no need to remember it, he said. There was always next weekend.

To me, it just seemed like a waste to be purposely discarding days of your life.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. I have enormous regrets now about the years in which I refused to have my picture taken – just the standard teenage insecurity, but it means there is a huge important chunk of my life that I have no memorabilia of whatsoever. It’s really sad to me.

    • Anonymous says:

      The weird thing is, this guy is my age and still thinks like this. I’m going to chalk it up to him being Irish.

  2. Anonymous says:

    sounds like my sister.

  3. Anonymous says:

    i miss having my life photographed and my accomplishments and hysterical funnies cataloged posted and remembered. i have tried to take those photos myself but then i am never in the pictures. i am starting to believe that not only should god play the soundtrack to my life , but photos should be included for memories. one moment that comes to mind is hearing uncle cracker for the first time sitting in the old barn at smith.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I wonder what he’s running away from..?

Leave a Reply

