My internet presence

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m constantly struggling with fragmentation of my online presence. Different social networks, blogs, feeds, it all gets so scattered and can make it both hard to keep up with and pointless to spend time on. But at the same time, I don’t want to combine everything into one site, because frankly I like having different tools for different types of info that people can pick and choose from to see what’s going on with me. So far, I’m playing with this combo:

Facebook: Strictly socializing, event planning, and brief updates on what’s going on in my life.

LJ: More detailed updates on my life and what’s going on in my head.

Tumblr: This one I just started, and I’m toying with up against Google Buzz as a place to dump all the random internet junk that I think is awesome.

WordPress: I’m using WordPress for Failure To Land, my experiment in journalist-style column writing.

Photos I’m still on the fence about, whether to get into using Flickr more, or simply stick to my current combo of posting to Facebook and my home Gallery.

There’s an idea for a web tool in here somewhere, it’s just a question of whether it already exists.

Leave a Reply

