Things

Posted: February 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

My shoulder is gradually improving, but it’s most definitely slow progress. Nonetheless I have to regularly remind myself that it’s only been 2 1/2 weeks since I injured it. So long as things keep healing properly, I’ll be happy.

Meantime, life continues unabated. In the face of potentially languishing in woeful immobility, I’ve tried to spark some projects to keep me from going insane. I’ve taken to staying late at work to work on one thing or another, mostly not work related, partly because it keeps me from being distracted by the less productive things, and partly because the weather has been unbearably hot and humid, which the living room air conditioner only barely keeps at bay, while the climate-controlled office is a hermetically sealed box of moderate temperatures and ergonomic lighting. I’ve been tweaking Badvoodoo.com very slightly, prodding at different ideas for dynamic, self-managing content. So far my best result is still the 404 error page.

My writing however is stalled. I have several article ideas for Failure To Land, but as I’m writing them I start to feel I’m either getting repetitive or simply writing something with no real point. I’ve always been my own worst critic, and this is one of the prime results: I never finish something because it feels less than what I’d aimed for, and I cull over it again and again until I give up on it ever taking the form I want. I need to simply allow myself to publish things knowing that I’m not publishing anything groundbreaking. But I still want to write something someone will actually find interesting to read.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    awesome 404.

Leave a Reply

