Over-perspective

Posted: August 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

Even though I have no trouble writing about my thoughts and opinions, in both objective and grossly biased ways, I have the worst time writing about myself from the 3rd person perspective. I imagine I’m not alone in this. I hate talking myself up, but I also can’t be very self-depricating because I still think I’m pretty awesome. See, even that little bit there? Those last two words? That took some effort.

I hate, hate writing resume cover letters explaining why someone would be an outright fool to hire someone else. I flail when writing a self-bio. I start writing something about myself, and my brain kicks in to remind me of all the things about me that oppose what I just wrote. For instance:

Me: “Reuben has traveled extensively, and loves to spend time outdoors.”

My Brain: Oh really? Is that why you spent all last night on the couch playing Xbox?

Me: It was my night off!

My Brain: Mm hmm, and “extensively”? I seem to recall you spending your twenties working a desk job and spending all your time in your room.

Me: Fine! “Reuben has barely gone anywhere and sits on his ass a lot.” How’s that?

My Brain: Don’t be so hard on yourself!

Me: Shut up. Just… shut up.

Comments
  1. _absolutely says:

    rueben is an unrelenting nerd, goes on a ridiculous amount of adventurous vacations, AND sits on his ass a lot.

  2. Anonymous says:

    rueben is an unrelenting nerd, goes on a ridiculous amount of adventurous vacations, AND sits on his ass a lot.

  3. thatgirly says:

    That’s absolutely hillarious! And yes, I think we all do it.

  4. Anonymous says:

    That’s absolutely hillarious! And yes, I think we all do it.

  5. konot says:

    “Jimmy would like to get to know you.” “Jimmy’s got some new moves.” “Ooohhh!!!!! JIMMY’S DOWN.”

  6. Anonymous says:

    “Jimmy would like to get to know you.” “Jimmy’s got some new moves.” “Ooohhh!!!!! JIMMY’S DOWN.”

  7. rusulki says:

    I seem to recall your late 20’s at least being spent trying to fall off of tall rocks.

    • Reuben says:

      Well, my brain likes to have selective recollections when tormenting me.

      • muffster says:

        i have some pictures you may need to see to knock some memories loose. seriously! traveled extensively doesn’t even start to cover it. Pssstt it was your early 20’s that you spent on your ass and that doesn’t even count any more 🙂

  8. Anonymous says:

    I seem to recall your late 20’s at least being spent trying to fall off of tall rocks.

    • Anonymous says:

      Well, my brain likes to have selective recollections when tormenting me.

      • Anonymous says:

        i have some pictures you may need to see to knock some memories loose. seriously! traveled extensively doesn’t even start to cover it. Pssstt it was your early 20’s that you spent on your ass and that doesn’t even count any more 🙂

Leave a Reply

