Solo

Posted: August 13, 2009 in Uncategorized

Any time I tell someone I’m going somewhere, the first question is almost always in the vein of, “Who are you going with?” And when I moved to Australia, I often got the same incredulous, “You’re moving there on your own?” Even just going for a drive, people find it strange that I would go by myself.

I just don’t understand this apparent overwhelming need to have someone along when you do ANYTHING. I think it’s the same thing that drives compulsive cell phone use and Twitter, but I don’t really get those either. I can appreciate having someone to share things with, but is it really that foreign or uncomfortable these days to do something on your own?

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    but is it really that foreign or uncomfortable these days to do something on your own?
    Yes, I think a lot of people think so. I was amazed at the reactions I would get because I was traveling alone.. people literally thought I was insane and I even had a few people, er boyfriends, accuse me of having a ‘dual life’ (my personal favorite reaction).
    I found I actually prefer traveling alone and I think its awesome when its a long trip, you can do what you want, when you want and don’t have to negotiate someone else’s needs or wishes. its total freedom.

    • Reuben says:

      I even had a few people, er boyfriends, accuse me of having a ‘dual life’
      That seems like an unnecessarily elaborate way to cheat on someone. Or to think someone’s cheating on you, for that matter.

    • muffster says:

      i think we are losing the ability to spend time alone and entertain ourselves. so much of our entertainment comes from outside ourselves. People don’t write, or play their own music just for the pleasure of it. they only do it if they are “good enough to be famous” people only knit if they are good enough to give it as gifts they only sew if they will show someone, and they have to be in constant contact with anyone. I think it cheepens our friendships to think that they wont last if we go weeks months or even years without chatting. people don’t sit down and write heart felt letters about their deep thoughts…. they tweet about the randum dumb ass stuff they think all the time. *sigh*

  2. Anonymous says:

    but is it really that foreign or uncomfortable these days to do something on your own?

    Yes, I think a lot of people think so. I was amazed at the reactions I would get because I was traveling alone.. people literally thought I was insane and I even had a few people, er boyfriends, accuse me of having a ‘dual life’ (my personal favorite reaction).

    I found I actually prefer traveling alone and I think its awesome when its a long trip, you can do what you want, when you want and don’t have to negotiate someone else’s needs or wishes. its total freedom.

    • Anonymous says:

      I even had a few people, er boyfriends, accuse me of having a ‘dual life’

      That seems like an unnecessarily elaborate way to cheat on someone. Or to think someone’s cheating on you, for that matter.

      • Anonymous says:

        ha! that was exactly my point as well. If I wanted to cheat on you, I wouldn’t go to Nepal, China or Chad to do it.

    • Anonymous says:

      i think we are losing the ability to spend time alone and entertain ourselves. so much of our entertainment comes from outside ourselves. People don’t write, or play their own music just for the pleasure of it. they only do it if they are “good enough to be famous” people only knit if they are good enough to give it as gifts they only sew if they will show someone, and they have to be in constant contact with anyone. I think it cheepens our friendships to think that they wont last if we go weeks months or even years without chatting. people don’t sit down and write heart felt letters about their deep thoughts…. they tweet about the randum dumb ass stuff they think all the time. *sigh*

  3. morgie says:

    In some ways, it really really is.
    In my current household, one of the adults call our group a pack (And yes, she is so alpha, my eardrums bleed), and they all consider /everything/ to be a group activity, even running to get gas.
    Thankfully, not much shit is given when I /drive off alone/ to go visit friends 5 hours away for the weekend.
    I love me my 5 hour drives one way…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Anonymous says:

    In some ways, it really really is.

    In my current household, one of the adults call our group a pack (And yes, she is so alpha, my eardrums bleed), and they all consider /everything/ to be a group activity, even running to get gas.

    Thankfully, not much shit is given when I /drive off alone/ to go visit friends 5 hours away for the weekend.

    I love me my 5 hour drives one way…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

