Words

Posted: July 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

I don’t tend to post memes here, since I generally treat my LJ as more of a public narrative than an interactive experience. However, this one piqued my curiosity to see just how someone viewed me almost solely by the contents of my writing. and I met very briefly many months ago via LJ over “Obama won the election” drinks, and have managed to completely fail at seeing each other in person ever since. However, given she’s a habitual writer and self-professed enthusiast of the fiddly bits of the English language, I took her up on her posted meme since I trusted she’d pick her words with some care:

Reply to this meme by yelling “Words!” (or you can just ask for the meme, I won’t mind) and I will give you five words that remind me of you. Then post them in your LJ and explain what they mean to you.


Obama: I think this post and this one best summarize what I felt about Obama taking his seat behind the Big Desk. I’ve always had a serious distaste for politics, and an even greater distaste for politicians, and much of the rhetoric was no different with this election than any other. However, there was something significantly different about the effect this man’s campaign had on the US public that was the most intriguing and, dare I say, hopeful thing I’d seen yet from a political forum. It was not what people were expecting the politicians to do, but what people were willing to do themselves. With accountability more a buzzword than an ethos, people were actually talking about what they could accomplish, not what could be handed to them. This was someone calling on people to do their share, and people were agreeing with him. It was also the first event I really felt like I’d missed out on by not being in the US.

kayak: When I first moved to Sydney, I felt of all the things I should take advantage of was the sheer amount of water-based activities. I started off with buying a surfboard, and more recently picked up a kayak as the cheapest and easiest ways to get out on the water. As is often the case, my motivation has some catching up to do to my intentions, but they nonetheless are keeping with my general mission of experiencing all aspects of living here.

rockface: I’ve been climbing for some years now, so rock and I have a certain love/injure relationship. When you climb, you come to appreciate every ripple, chip, crystal, crack, and shape of the rock. You tend to become something of an amateur geologist; knowing how it got there there just helps you know how to get up it. It also easily becomes an obsession, and spotting a clean wall of rock while driving through the mountains is like having someone flash you from the roadside, creating an immediate road hazard as you automatically start judging the quality of the rock and looking for lines. Different rock has its own characters, both defined by the landscape and defining it in return; the towering granite and basalt of the North American western ranges created by entire continents crushing together with patient intent, the sandstone and limestone gorges of Australian Dividing range carved miles deep by a trickle of water, drip-dried limestone of southeast Asia undercut by ocean tides as they melt crystal tendrils from the top. A myriad of shapes the bones of the planet take, dwarfing our own appearance both in stature and on the scale of time.

technology: I was born with an affliction characterized as “the Knack“. As a kid, I built elaborate structures out of legos and constructor sets, diagramed and mapped things, and learned to solder at 11 so I could replace a fuse on my old mini black and white TV. When I was introduced to computers, that was pretty much the finishing stroke. Technology has not so much been the cause as the symptom. Luckily, working for a software company at a young age put me in tech overload, and I overcame the tech hording instinct early. I no longer crave the latest and greatest at any cost, but technology plays as an essential and basic role in my life as a pair of shoes. And sometimes I understand shoes less.

balance: I love that this was a defining word for me, because it’s really something I try to define myself by. The things I do, the things I perceive, and the things I believe all need to be weighed and balanced for me to feel good about them. This past weekend was a prime example; spending an entire day gaming and lounging around, I felt the need to balance it with driving off to someplace remote and poking around the wilderness. My activity usually needs to be balanced with some inactivity. Being social needs to be balanced with being reclusive. And even just in my opinion of people and things, I usually feel the need to look at motivations or origins as well as the effects. Alternatively, I reject the idea of implicit moderation, not to be confused with balance. Avoiding extremes is not as productive as simply being selective about them.

Comments
  1. rusulki says:

    WORDS
    Is this how this works? I’m confused by your instructions.

    • Reuben says:

      Yay, finally got back to this! I claim no authorship or editorship of the instructions.
      – pandas (naturally)
      – booze
      – headbutt
      – tasty
      – unmanageable

  2. Anonymous says:

    WORDS

    Is this how this works? I’m confused by your instructions.

    • Anonymous says:

      Yay, finally got back to this! I claim no authorship or editorship of the instructions.

      – pandas (naturally)
      – booze
      – headbutt
      – tasty
      – unmanageable

Leave a Reply

