Whatever floats yer boat

Posted: May 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

After buying a paddle for the new kayak yesterday, I woke up this morning mentally ready to get that bad boy out on the water, then looked out the window to see it pouring rain. This, like many things, worked out for the best though, as I wound up having a simply massive breakfast with the roommate, his girlfriend, and her mother and grandmother. An added bonus was the mother and grandmother were delighted about my coffee maker, and I was able to make a batch for more than just me for a change. To top it off, the weather cleared as we were finishing up, so once everyone had scattered, I went about my first time of working out just how to get the kayak from the garage to the boat launch. Given my car has no roof rack and barely fits through the garage door as it is, this took some creativity, manhandling, and some creative ropework, but the loading and unloading of a giant, heavy plastic cylinder on to the top of an uneven platform six feet off the ground worked better than I had hoped.

The paddling itself I kept short, since I didn’t really drive away until 2, and the weather was still a bit iffy. Thankfully the rain held off for the two hours I was out apart from the beginning of a sprinkle my last 100 meters (note: I just unconsciously measured a distance in meters. Weird). The contours of the coastline and calm waters of the harbor make for fantastic paddling, and the rudder on my kayak makes steering even into the wind effortless. I quietly and smoothly glided through yachts and coves, watching fish jump and various cormorant-looking birds swoop after them or perch along the bank looking sulky. The best part though was a small, shallow bay downwind in Sailors Bay that had become a collection point for jellyfish, the water underneath me filled with the round, pulsating bodies, like hundreds of faintly convulsing plastic bags. On the whole, it was a great start. The loading and unloading process doesn’t lend itself to being a spur-of-the-moment activity, but every so often it’ll be a great way to explore the harbor. It’ll also be a good way to put me to sleep at night, because I’m wiped out after just that little trial.

As an added potential, over drinks on Friday night, my roommate introduced me to an extremely amiable and outspoken Englishman who is making his living crewing boats and has promised to get us on a crew on one of the sailing yachts any Saturday we like. If this is true, I’ll finally manage to get myself on a sailboat on the harbor, possibly on a regular basis.

Looks like my winter may have a lot of boat time involved.

On completely unrelated note, I’ve just recently found this Portland trio Horse Feathers. I highly recommend them.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    sounds like an awsome day πŸ™‚ I have been thinking about doing some paddling around fern ditch just to see if I can…

  2. Anonymous says:

    sounds like an awsome day πŸ™‚ I have been thinking about doing some paddling around fern ditch just to see if I can…

Leave a Reply

