Planning time

Posted: April 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

I just got my time off approved for my Europe trip for the last week of September through the first three weeks of October. Time to book some flights. I’m actually really hoping this swine flu scare drops ticket prices even more…

So, two options for the tour plan: London to Rome via Paris, Stuttgart, Innsbruck, and Pisa, or Frankfurt to Rome with lots of meandering on the way and a possible extension into Greece.

Anyone out there have any recommendations? (, you know I’m lookin at you here)

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    go to Greece PLEASE and send me lots of pictures!!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    go to Greece PLEASE and send me lots of pictures!!!!

  3. tokori says:

    Id go London via Rome (assuming you have some time off). IMO Germany is sort of lame unless you hit Oktoberfest but Munich might be worth a stop to see. I would skip the Black Forest, its basically oregon but in germany . . Are you going via train or car?
    Also, I am assuming you want to maximum your time in the mountains? So under that assumption I would do the following:
    From London, Id take the tube to Paris, its about 1-2 hours last time I took it, from Paris I’d go to lyon (geneve or dijon) from there to Bern(CH) then to lauterbrunnen(CH) (my favorite area in the alps is lauterbrunnen- amazing!!), innsbruck (AT) to dolomoites (IT) or Cinque Terre(IT) -specifically to Manarola (sp?) in the Cinque Terre or the lake region if you just want to chill- then from there to Florence or Venice and finally via Tuscany (most amazing pizza and wine is in Montepulciano or Napoli) into rome ..
    what time of year are you thinking? that also changes my suggestions quite a bit 🙂 and all these rec’s are assuming you’re via train not car ..
    Greece is also nice but I would try to maximize your time on the islands and not on the mainland. I have some recs for specifics there too if you want to go that route.
    phew. ok- let me know if that was totally overwhelming or if I can get even more specific or a different direction, I will 🙂

    • Reuben says:

      Sweet, this is just the kinda stuff I was looking for. I was definitely planning on focusing on the islands in Greece, but that’s assuming I have time left to get there.
      I’m planning to do it all by train, but car rental as needed is certainly an option. I’ve certainly gotten used to driving on both sides of the road by now…
      I’m hoping late September/early October will still be early enough that the weather won’t be getting too ugly, while the bulk of students and tourists will have gone.

      • Anonymous says:

        Do see the castle in the basement of the Louvre. And if you’re doing islands in Greece, take a boat to Corfu. Remember Gerald Durrell.

      • tokori says:

        september should be still pretty hot, you won’t need a car as the trains are really good and people drive on the same side of the road here as the states (with the exception of the UK)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Id go London via Rome (assuming you have some time off). IMO Germany is sort of lame unless you hit Oktoberfest but Munich might be worth a stop to see. I would skip the Black Forest, its basically oregon but in germany . . Are you going via train or car?

    Also, I am assuming you want to maximum your time in the mountains? So under that assumption I would do the following:

    From London, Id take the tube to Paris, its about 1-2 hours last time I took it, from Paris I’d go to lyon (geneve or dijon) from there to Bern(CH) then to lauterbrunnen(CH) (my favorite area in the alps is lauterbrunnen- amazing!!), innsbruck (AT) to dolomoites (IT) or Cinque Terre(IT) -specifically to Manarola (sp?) in the Cinque Terre or the lake region if you just want to chill- then from there to Florence or Venice and finally via Tuscany (most amazing pizza and wine is in Montepulciano or Napoli) into rome ..

    what time of year are you thinking? that also changes my suggestions quite a bit 🙂 and all these rec’s are assuming you’re via train not car ..

    Greece is also nice but I would try to maximize your time on the islands and not on the mainland. I have some recs for specifics there too if you want to go that route.

    phew. ok- let me know if that was totally overwhelming or if I can get even more specific or a different direction, I will 🙂

    • Anonymous says:

      Sweet, this is just the kinda stuff I was looking for. I was definitely planning on focusing on the islands in Greece, but that’s assuming I have time left to get there.

      I’m planning to do it all by train, but car rental as needed is certainly an option. I’ve certainly gotten used to driving on both sides of the road by now…

      I’m hoping late September/early October will still be early enough that the weather won’t be getting too ugly, while the bulk of students and tourists will have gone.

      • Anonymous says:

        Do see the castle in the basement of the Louvre. And if you’re doing islands in Greece, take a boat to Corfu. Remember Gerald Durrell.

      • Anonymous says:

        september should be still pretty hot, you won’t need a car as the trains are really good and people drive on the same side of the road here as the states (with the exception of the UK)

Leave a Reply

