C’mon, everybody’s doin’ it

Posted: April 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

It’s been creeping up little by little lately. Cousins and friends are getting married. My highschool class notes are mostly about baby showers. Naturally, my recent visit back home got the usual inquiries about my own thoughts on finding a nice girl and maybe having a kid or two (thankfully, my mom is always supremely tactful about how she brings it up). Today, I got a photo in the mail from my niece of her senior picture as she’s getting ready to graduate and go off to college.

And me, I’m coming up on 31, I’ve been single over a year, and I just bought a kayak.

Thing is, I have no doubts about what I’m doing with my life. I enjoy the hell out of it, I’m doing exactly what I want to be doing, and people are constantly telling me they wish they could do what I do. In no way do I feel like I want to be settling down right now. I barely want to own a car unless I can sleep in it. But I can’t help but feel I’ve entered that window of time that’s optimal for starting down that path, and time these days has a habit of disappearing without notice until one day you realize that great party you went to recently was actually two years ago. Which is precisely why I’m living the way I am now; I’m making the most of my time. I’m not prepared to slow my life down in the foreseeable future. But I hate to think I might bypass something else that could be important.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    I think it sort of hit me this year- I was creeped out about it all until one day I sort of woke up and was like ‘damn, I saw all the world I wanted to see (well except antarctica), climbed all the mountains and explored all that looked interesting (to me)’ I learned where I want to go and why I would go back/or not go back. I am sad to say I sort of reached an ‘Im over it point’ where I wanted to try something new for a bit, traveling got old.* I don’t believe in marriage being for everyone and ditto with kids and I wish more people were nomadic.. or could think outside the norms.
    *disclaimer: I fully intend to travel the world again with a kid, and take them to all the highlights, teach them how to ski and climb and live life minimally and in a really alternative way- no house, no minivans. I think you have to define your own way and that’s the biggest mistake people make- they fall into cliques and get lazy there and before they know it- they’re stuck.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I think it sort of hit me this year- I was creeped out about it all until one day I sort of woke up and was like ‘damn, I saw all the world I wanted to see (well except antarctica), climbed all the mountains and explored all that looked interesting (to me)’ I learned where I want to go and why I would go back/or not go back. I am sad to say I sort of reached an ‘Im over it point’ where I wanted to try something new for a bit, traveling got old.* I don’t believe in marriage being for everyone and ditto with kids and I wish more people were nomadic.. or could think outside the norms.

    *disclaimer: I fully intend to travel the world again with a kid, and take them to all the highlights, teach them how to ski and climb and live life minimally and in a really alternative way- no house, no minivans. I think you have to define your own way and that’s the biggest mistake people make- they fall into cliques and get lazy there and before they know it- they’re stuck.

  3. muffster says:

    There are no wrongs or rights when it comes to these kinds of choices. Just Right or Left. There is nothing wrong with not getting married and not having children, or choosing to do those later in life… or not. Life happens and is long and lovely if we are lucky. the trick is to love the life you have and realize you made the choices to bring you to the beautiful amazing perfect moment you are living šŸ™‚ I believe the only travesty in life is not not love where you are at and live out loud where you are. I feel sad for all the people who live in “if only” land.

    • Reuben says:

      Funny thing is, this whole mindset is completely at odds with the lifestyle I feel I’ve always best identified with, this sort of “things will come as they are needed” Taoist approach that just seems to work so well for me. This feeling of having a “window of opportunity” is not really me, but at the same time it’s an entire aspect of life that I could conceivably bypass without putting some effort in.

      • muffster says:

        I am not sure there is a window of opportunity for falling in love and finding the person you want to make babies with. if it is something you really want, be open to it šŸ™‚ there is a great deal of joy in sharing your life with a like minded human. struggle and joy šŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    There are no wrongs or rights when it comes to these kinds of choices. Just Right or Left. There is nothing wrong with not getting married and not having children, or choosing to do those later in life… or not. Life happens and is long and lovely if we are lucky. the trick is to love the life you have and realize you made the choices to bring you to the beautiful amazing perfect moment you are living šŸ™‚ I believe the only travesty in life is not not love where you are at and live out loud where you are. I feel sad for all the people who live in “if only” land.

    • Anonymous says:

      Funny thing is, this whole mindset is completely at odds with the lifestyle I feel I’ve always best identified with, this sort of “things will come as they are needed” Taoist approach that just seems to work so well for me. This feeling of having a “window of opportunity” is not really me, but at the same time it’s an entire aspect of life that I could conceivably bypass without putting some effort in.

      • Anonymous says:

        I am not sure there is a window of opportunity for falling in love and finding the person you want to make babies with. if it is something you really want, be open to it šŸ™‚ there is a great deal of joy in sharing your life with a like minded human. struggle and joy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

