Bibliotecherotica

Posted: March 23, 2009 in Uncategorized

As has been previously indicated, I love a good setting for reading. Similarly, there’s something almost indecently attractive about a massive collection of books, ideally more than you could hope to read in a lifetime, in a library or book store that’s made almost entirely of cathedral-like chambers and cozy, hidden nooks in which you can sit, be it on a chair, a footstool, or just crosslegged on the floor, and peruse the wealth of literature around you at your leisure. Particularly, for some reason, if the architecture features significant amounts of hardwood, dark threadbare carpeting, and wrought iron in a heavily Baroque style making almost excessive use of small staircases and balconies.

Among my personal favorites have been Smith Family Bookstore in Eugene (pictured above) and Bart’s Books in Ojai, CA. And I know I’m by no means alone in this kind of emotional and aesthetic joy among the stacks. Take for example this blog post featuring nothing but photos of incredibly attractive libraries, which are in turn samples from an entire book about them. All you who enjoy geeking out over books now and again, enjoy.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    oh. my. god. The one in Paris still has wooden card catalogs! And I didn’t go……

  2. Anonymous says:

    oh. my. god. The one in Paris still has wooden card catalogs! And I didn’t go……

  3. muffster says:

    interestingly i adore book stores like Smith’s and Powell’s in Portland… but Library’s kinda freak me out.

  4. Anonymous says:

    interestingly i adore book stores like Smith’s and Powell’s in Portland… but Library’s kinda freak me out.

    • Anonymous says:

      I think it’s the librarians that tend to be the scary part of libraries. 😉

      • Anonymous says:

        i think you are on to something there… the idea that I can’t holler “OH MY GOD” at any given moment is daunting to say the least.

Leave a Reply

