Hurdles in communication

Posted: February 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

I’m increasingly realizing that, in dealing with people who don’t speak English as their first language, it’s hard to tell if they’rehaving trouble with their grasp of the language, or if they’re just an idiot. Given the sheer number of non-English speaking countries involved in my day-to-day business in the Asia-Pacific region, it’s a frequent test of my patience to work out basic communication, especially when it turns out at the end they simply don’t get the concept.

Unfortunately, I’ve also increasingly found I have absolutely no talent for eastern languages, and any attempts to learn one have gone nowhere.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    welcome to my life circa now.
    except i have the reverse problem on top of that- that if someone rattles off something in the local language I get the ‘are you an idiot’ look if I don’t understand every word or ask them to repeat something.
    good times all around.

  2. Anonymous says:

    welcome to my life circa now.

    except i have the reverse problem on top of that- that if someone rattles off something in the local language I get the ‘are you an idiot’ look if I don’t understand every word or ask them to repeat something.

    good times all around.

Leave a Reply

