Perpetual motion machine

Posted: January 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

One week later, here I am back in SLC airport, in a rare moment of sitting still. Touching down after an incredibly comfortable 14 hours from Sydney thanks to sneaking into “premium economy” class, and a relatively instant hop from SFO, my dad picked me up at the curb and we immediately headed for Park City. From then on, nearly all our free time was spent either sleeping, eating, or snowboarding / skiing, pausing only for a six hour drive on Monday to Aspen for more of the same. Having never boarded outside Oregon, Park City and Aspen were astounding, with massive mountains and more runs than I could hope to get on, all literally outside the front door. My whole body is tired, but I couldn’t stop. There was too much to do. And to finish it off, I drove another 6 hours back along I-70 to SLC, where I’m now waiting for my flight to Eugene.

I’m still in post-powder bliss.

current read: Guns, Germs, and Steel (still)

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    oh I wish you had gotten to Vail!! I ❤ it.
    Any chance you’ll be in the alps before May? the slopes will still be rad.

    • Reuben says:

      I was talking with a Brazilian woman in the gondola on Aspen Mountain about Vail, she loved it too, especially the back bowl. I have to say though, the powder bowl on Aspen Highlands is amazing.
      Sadly, odds are extremely slim on me making the alps before August. I can imagine it’s a hell of a place to winter.

  2. Anonymous says:

    oh I wish you had gotten to Vail!! I ❤ it.

    Any chance you’ll be in the alps before May? the slopes will still be rad.

    • Anonymous says:

      I was talking with a Brazilian woman in the gondola on Aspen Mountain about Vail, she loved it too, especially the back bowl. I have to say though, the powder bowl on Aspen Highlands is amazing.

      Sadly, odds are extremely slim on me making the alps before August. I can imagine it’s a hell of a place to winter.

Leave a Reply

