Turkey Lurkie Dee Why Beach

Posted: November 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

So, despite the complete lack of any acknowledgment of Thanksgiving in Australia (not exactly shocking), I actually got to have a proper Thanksgiving dinner today thanks to the unstoppable efforts of , the only other token American present at the festivities hosted by locals Tim and Hayley. Complete with turkey, gravy, biscuits, vegetables, two kinds of salad, and both pumpkin and apple pie, it put us into proper food comas all afternoon. And, naturally no Thanksgiving in Australia would be complete without a brief visit to the nearby beach, if only for the absurdity of standing with my feet in the water in shorts and a t-shirt, pondering the coming summer in late November.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    reading this makes me wish I had cooked but I was still sudo sick and tired and didnt have the energy for a giant feast. . .
    oh well, there is always next year

    • Reuben says:

      Ya, cooking at that level would take some serious energy commitment, and I actually was a bit thankful to be cooking-inept. Nonetheless, it is surprisingly comforting when you’re overseas to stuff yourself senseless on traditional holiday food.
      Having another American around to get my jokes also helped.

      • tokori says:

        yeah the traditional stuff I do miss but mostly when I see it in others photos 🙂

      • Reuben says:

        Hey, you still thinking about NZ in Feb? I’m starting to plan a trip late Feb or early March.

      • tokori says:

        still waiting to hear on the residency funding- should know next week! 🙂
        where are you thinking of going?

      • Reuben says:

        I’m thinking a flight to Christchurch, renting a camperbus (at a co-worker’s suggestion), and basically doing the loop south to Queenstown, up the west coast, and back over Arthur’s Pass. Pretty light driving loop, so lots of time to explore, maybe head down as far as Invercargill.

      • tokori says:

        milford sound? you got to go there- it was a highlight. . .
        my gig is on the north island but I would love to hit up queenstown if you’re there the same time- the climbing is amazing there.. !

      • Reuben says:

        Cool, I’ll have to add it to the list. Keep me posted on the funding!

  2. Anonymous says:

    reading this makes me wish I had cooked but I was still sudo sick and tired and didnt have the energy for a giant feast. . .

    oh well, there is always next year

    • Anonymous says:

      Ya, cooking at that level would take some serious energy commitment, and I actually was a bit thankful to be cooking-inept. Nonetheless, it is surprisingly comforting when you’re overseas to stuff yourself senseless on traditional holiday food.

      Having another American around to get my jokes also helped.

      • Anonymous says:

        yeah the traditional stuff I do miss but mostly when I see it in others photos 🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        Hey, you still thinking about NZ in Feb? I’m starting to plan a trip late Feb or early March.

      • Anonymous says:

        still waiting to hear on the residency funding- should know next week! 🙂

        where are you thinking of going?

      • Anonymous says:

        I’m thinking a flight to Christchurch, renting a camperbus (at a co-worker’s suggestion), and basically doing the loop south to Queenstown, up the west coast, and back over Arthur’s Pass. Pretty light driving loop, so lots of time to explore, maybe head down as far as Invercargill.

      • Anonymous says:

        milford sound? you got to go there- it was a highlight. . .

        my gig is on the north island but I would love to hit up queenstown if you’re there the same time- the climbing is amazing there.. !

      • Anonymous says:

        Cool, I’ll have to add it to the list. Keep me posted on the funding!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Bierm Mmmmmm
    Yo yo yo Mr Rubeun how have you been? I haven’t seen you at the gym lately? Any I don’t have your number so I thought that this would be the easiest way to get in touch with you.
    My friends and I are going to the Bier cafe this Sunday arvo, the one that is near you (I’m not sure what it’s called) and I thought you might want to join us? If you come Mario said that he will come too. I’m still trying to organise other people to come too – just waiting on responses etc.
    Anyway let me know – Lisa know’s my mob number (I’m abit reluctant to post my number over the internet) or email me: tamakutchi@hotmail.com
    Cheers, Kutchi

  4. Anonymous says:

    Bierm Mmmmmm

    Yo yo yo Mr Rubeun how have you been? I haven’t seen you at the gym lately? Any I don’t have your number so I thought that this would be the easiest way to get in touch with you.

    My friends and I are going to the Bier cafe this Sunday arvo, the one that is near you (I’m not sure what it’s called) and I thought you might want to join us? If you come Mario said that he will come too. I’m still trying to organise other people to come too – just waiting on responses etc.

    Anyway let me know – Lisa know’s my mob number (I’m abit reluctant to post my number over the internet) or email me: tamakutchi@hotmail.com

    Cheers, Kutchi

Leave a Reply

