Ugh

Posted: October 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

Well, I’m all moved, but not after spending all day moving when it should’ve taken a few hours, and after my former roommate hit two parked cars with the truck, which means it will wind up costing me in the ballpark of $650, as opposed to free like when I moved my stuff myself in my car.

Last damn time I let someone else arrange these things for me. I should have known better though, I can’t stand the guy as it is. At least I don’t have to see him or the other guy ever again.

On the plus side, seems there’s a Belgian beer cafe down the street from the new place that has a lot of the same stuff I used to drink at the Beir Stein in Eugene. They’re all 2-3 times the price, but with the conversion rate what it is lately, that’s not nearly as upsetting as it used to be.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    i still havent been to the bier stien.
    where does one hang out here in the later evenings and eat in eugene?

    • Reuben says:

      Whaguhuh? Haven’t been the the Bier Stein? Well, if you like beer at all, or even cider, it’s a great stop. They also have possibly my all-time-favorite sandwich “The Gouddist”, with turkey, gouda cheese, pesto, and some other fabulous stuff on ciabatta, with outstanding pasta salad.
      As for night spots, apparently Indigo District has gone to hell, so don’t bother checking it out for evenings. There’s a nice place in the back half of what was the French Horn on I believe 16th an Willamette which is pretty low-key; for more active nightlife, The Davis on Broadway and Olive has a solid barstaff, good atmosphere, and always a good crowd, although they have a tendency to blare the horrible sound system to get people to dance. Joe Feds is also back, and it’s actually possible to now get a drink in under 30 minutes. I went there in late August, and it was really nice.
      Not much has really changed by way of food. You’ll probably know all the good spots.

      • tokori says:

        yeah- I havent really been here for a long time with enough time to *do* anything, its usually 2-3 days and so now Im exploring my options ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Reuben says:

        Well, ping me if you’re looking for any more recommendations, I still have that town fairly wired, since I’ve wound up back there every 3 months or so. Also, the Weekly still manages to have details on damn near every event, which doesn’t say much for the volume of stuff going on, but it is really handy. I rather miss it being in a city that’s so big I barely even know where to start looking for stuff to do.

      • tokori says:

        “in a city that’s so big I barely even know where to start looking for stuff to do.”
        yeah I have that problem in NYC there is so much going on I end up usually doing nothing or the same thing I did the week before because its just too damn overwhelming to do anything else.

  2. Anonymous says:

    i still havent been to the bier stien.

    where does one hang out here in the later evenings and eat in eugene?

    • Anonymous says:

      Whaguhuh? Haven’t been the the Bier Stein? Well, if you like beer at all, or even cider, it’s a great stop. They also have possibly my all-time-favorite sandwich “The Gouddist”, with turkey, gouda cheese, pesto, and some other fabulous stuff on ciabatta, with outstanding pasta salad.

      As for night spots, apparently Indigo District has gone to hell, so don’t bother checking it out for evenings. There’s a nice place in the back half of what was the French Horn on I believe 16th an Willamette which is pretty low-key; for more active nightlife, The Davis on Broadway and Olive has a solid barstaff, good atmosphere, and always a good crowd, although they have a tendency to blare the horrible sound system to get people to dance. Joe Feds is also back, and it’s actually possible to now get a drink in under 30 minutes. I went there in late August, and it was really nice.

      Not much has really changed by way of food. You’ll probably know all the good spots.

      • Anonymous says:

        yeah- I havent really been here for a long time with enough time to *do* anything, its usually 2-3 days and so now Im exploring my options ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Anonymous says:

        Well, ping me if you’re looking for any more recommendations, I still have that town fairly wired, since I’ve wound up back there every 3 months or so. Also, the Weekly still manages to have details on damn near every event, which doesn’t say much for the volume of stuff going on, but it is really handy. I rather miss it being in a city that’s so big I barely even know where to start looking for stuff to do.

      • Anonymous says:

        “in a city that’s so big I barely even know where to start looking for stuff to do.”

        yeah I have that problem in NYC there is so much going on I end up usually doing nothing or the same thing I did the week before because its just too damn overwhelming to do anything else.

Leave a Reply

