Timing

Posted: October 11, 2008 in Uncategorized

So, in a week I move into a new place walking distance from work with Adrian, the Irish guy from work who showed me around when I first moved here. This after only three months in my current place, but frankly, not a moment too soon. Even having been in the US for nearly a third of the time, I can’t get out of here soon enough.

The 50-year-old Persian rules the place like we’re his kids (who, like his wife, left a while ago for reasons that have become self-evident), smokes in the house, and during the winter cranked the thermostat to the point that I had to shut the vent in my room just to be able to sleep at night. This of course resulted in utility bills totaling over $1500 for the last month alone.

The other guy, Steve, while less outlandish and just as annoyed by the Persian, nonetheless would not stop complaining about his job, and occasionally made rather odd paranoid statements about co-workers sabotaging extremely mundane things at work. However, last night the inevitable other shoe dropped when he nonchalantly mentioned that he could never go back to Queensland because about a year ago he was involuntarily committed for his obsessive paranoia about being persecuted by the Freemasons and the Illuminati, then fled the state when he was released on probation, and moved in here.

I swear, I am not making this up. Neither is he, I got to read the psych evaluation.

One more week…

Comments
  1. aardammit says:

    That’s fuckin’ brilliant! Wow!

  2. Anonymous says:

    That’s fuckin’ brilliant! Wow!

  3. muffster says:

    i think you get the worst room mates EVER award. I am with Aard. WOW!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    i think you get the worst room mates EVER award. I am with Aard. WOW!!

Leave a Reply

