And behold, a pale horse, and the name that sat on him was The Tax Man

Posted: October 2, 2008 in Uncategorized

The taxation system here is quite simple, with no state taxes to file and federal tax filing much the same as in the US, including much the same deduction categories, and forms very similar to the W2 and 1040S. The government even provides free tax filing software, and allows you to deduct tax processing fees from the following year. I’m really not terribly certain how the states are funded without their own taxation, particularly as imbalanced as they are population-wise: nearly a third of the country’s population resides in the state of New South Wales, which makes up a land mass about the size of Washington, Oregon, and Idaho.

Given it was my first year filing taxes in Australia and I didn’t want any surprises or, even more, didn’t want to miss any refund options, at the recommendation of another US transplant I got a pro to do my taxes for me at a local H&R Block. And thankfully so, because otherwise I would’ve thought I’d made a mistake somewhere. See, for years now I’ve gotten used to owing at least $600 in taxes at the end of the year. This time, I’m actually getting a refund. Of over $6k.

When the lady told me, I had a nice, long laugh.

Comments
  1. mortava says:

    THAT is awesome! 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    THAT is awesome! 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    You should by 6000 cups of coffee with it.

  4. Anonymous says:

    You should by 6000 cups of coffee with it.

    • Anonymous says:

      That would especially come in handy in case there’s a fire. Or I could save on airfare and just run anywhere I wanted to go.

Leave a Reply

