Struggle

Posted: September 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’m trying to not fester in a negative mindset right now, trying to find what’s bothering me about being here and do something about it, but even after nine months I can’t seem to get any traction. It’s easy to resent the hole you’re in because it’s a lot harder to try and crawl out. But how do you connect with people in a city where nobody will look you in the eye?

I’ve been lying to people a lot over the past couple weeks. They ask me if I’m having a good time in Australia. And I keep saying yes. Saying no will only confuse them.

Comments
  1. _absolutely says:

    psh. obviously, the problem is you were supposed to come to idaho and now you’re breaking under the guilt! =p
    no worries love, you will be home before you know it. you don’t have to stay any longer than your contract says. ❀

  2. Anonymous says:

    psh. obviously, the problem is you were supposed to come to idaho and now you’re breaking under the guilt! =p

    no worries love, you will be home before you know it. you don’t have to stay any longer than your contract says. ❀

  3. tokori says:

    meetup.com and getting a dog saved my life in nyc.

    • mantaylo says:

      I love this suggestion. Rent Mad Max and then go get a rough & tumble aussie shepherd with a bandanna.
      You could also start playing the guitar.
      Both are activities that you can enjoy alone but are bridges to meeting people. Plus both add depth to your character. Now you could play…say…the autoharp, but I bet the guitar will lead to fewer strange looks…unless that’s your schtick.
      Strangers are not kind in the world today, and the whole world has strangers, not just the city you’re in. Hope it helps. Hope you get to feeling better adjusted!

      • Reuben says:

        See, if I wasn’t in the middle of the Australian version of LA, Mad Max meets El Mariachi would be just the ticket. Although my past attempts at guitar playing indicate I would just scare off the dog anyway.
        As it is, I may just have to start an autoharp band called “Autoharmonic Asphyxiation” that does all INXS covers. That oughtta be popular with the aussies.

      • mantaylo says:

        For some reason popular media leads us to believe that Europop award-winning Swedish girl group Abba is a cupid’s arrow to the Auzzie heart. I’m not sure why this is, but it comes up everywhere.

      • Reuben says:

        Abba does seem to be to Aussie women what the movie Grease is to American women. It’s a mystery.

    • Reuben says:

      Looks like people here, or at least some expats, actually use meetup.com. I’ll give that a shot, see how it turns out. Thanks for the suggestion.

      • tokori says:

        yeah, meetup is really active in the EU also and in NYC. I went to a few in NYC and met some awesome people. Everything from climbing to book clubs to emo art groups.

      • Reuben says:

        You had me until the emo art group…
        The expats meetup last night went really well though. Even got to bitch about the Australians with some aggro American lawyer chick.

      • muffster says:

        if you have to be a hater it is better to have atractive company πŸ˜‰
        if you can not love where you are, hate it with style and passion. you know how i believe… live out LOUD. what ever your truth is speak it loudly and proudly. if you hate it there and think the women are stuck up and shallow then tell them cleverly. you can play the dark brooding card. this is that opportunity to practice that whole “bad boy” thing. learn to glare and treat women with disdain. If aussie women are anything at all like american women they will flock to you and fling them selves at you.
        there are times in our lives when the only thing we can be is bitter and angry. it isn’t as fun and attractive as happy and joyfilled. however it is a learning experience. it is important to know and accept what it feels like to REALLY hate where you live. the important thing is to acknowledge that it only needs to be temperary. I do not know if this is that point in your life, that is yours to decide. I am just saying that if it is, use it to your advantage.

      • Reuben says:

        Actually, there’s one thing that being here has really solidified in me, and that’s the fact that I quite like who and how I am. I like not going to nightspots with dress codes, I like aggressively witty banter, and I like being unapologetic about it. Those who are enjoy something else can find it elsewhere, and that’s fine by me.
        I don’t think the bad boy thing is really me, and honestly, I don’t want to hang out with the women that are attracted to it. They can look elsewhere for an emo douchebag they can call their own. I’ll just stick to being acidic.

      • muffster says:

        That’s even better πŸ™‚ but don’t kick yourself in the ass for not being 100% stoked all the time. you feel how you feel you like what you like and you are who you are.

  4. Anonymous says:

    meetup.com and getting a dog saved my life in nyc.

    • Anonymous says:

      I love this suggestion. Rent Mad Max and then go get a rough & tumble aussie shepherd with a bandanna.

      You could also start playing the guitar.

      Both are activities that you can enjoy alone but are bridges to meeting people. Plus both add depth to your character. Now you could play…say…the autoharp, but I bet the guitar will lead to fewer strange looks…unless that’s your schtick.

      Strangers are not kind in the world today, and the whole world has strangers, not just the city you’re in. Hope it helps. Hope you get to feeling better adjusted!

      • Anonymous says:

        See, if I wasn’t in the middle of the Australian version of LA, Mad Max meets El Mariachi would be just the ticket. Although my past attempts at guitar playing indicate I would just scare off the dog anyway.

        As it is, I may just have to start an autoharp band called “Autoharmonic Asphyxiation” that does all INXS covers. That oughtta be popular with the aussies.

      • Anonymous says:

        For some reason popular media leads us to believe that Europop award-winning Swedish girl group Abba is a cupid’s arrow to the Auzzie heart. I’m not sure why this is, but it comes up everywhere.

      • Anonymous says:

        Abba does seem to be to Aussie women what the movie Grease is to American women. It’s a mystery.

    • Anonymous says:

      Looks like people here, or at least some expats, actually use meetup.com. I’ll give that a shot, see how it turns out. Thanks for the suggestion.

      • Anonymous says:

        yeah, meetup is really active in the EU also and in NYC. I went to a few in NYC and met some awesome people. Everything from climbing to book clubs to emo art groups.

      • Anonymous says:

        You had me until the emo art group…

        The expats meetup last night went really well though. Even got to bitch about the Australians with some aggro American lawyer chick.

      • Anonymous says:

        if you have to be a hater it is better to have atractive company πŸ˜‰

        if you can not love where you are, hate it with style and passion. you know how i believe… live out LOUD. what ever your truth is speak it loudly and proudly. if you hate it there and think the women are stuck up and shallow then tell them cleverly. you can play the dark brooding card. this is that opportunity to practice that whole “bad boy” thing. learn to glare and treat women with disdain. If aussie women are anything at all like american women they will flock to you and fling them selves at you.

        there are times in our lives when the only thing we can be is bitter and angry. it isn’t as fun and attractive as happy and joyfilled. however it is a learning experience. it is important to know and accept what it feels like to REALLY hate where you live. the important thing is to acknowledge that it only needs to be temperary. I do not know if this is that point in your life, that is yours to decide. I am just saying that if it is, use it to your advantage.

      • Anonymous says:

        Actually, there’s one thing that being here has really solidified in me, and that’s the fact that I quite like who and how I am. I like not going to nightspots with dress codes, I like aggressively witty banter, and I like being unapologetic about it. Those who are enjoy something else can find it elsewhere, and that’s fine by me.

        I don’t think the bad boy thing is really me, and honestly, I don’t want to hang out with the women that are attracted to it. They can look elsewhere for an emo douchebag they can call their own. I’ll just stick to being acidic.

      • Anonymous says:

        That’s even better πŸ™‚ but don’t kick yourself in the ass for not being 100% stoked all the time. you feel how you feel you like what you like and you are who you are.

Leave a Reply

