Getting it back

Posted: August 3, 2008 in Uncategorized

For the majority of months that I’ve been here, I barely touched actual rock. I climbed plastic every week, and after a while finally got a couple invitations to finally climb outside. But I still was feeling hesitant, disconnected from the sport. Those times I went out, I stayed on toprope, not feeling confident enough to lead again. Part of it may have been the mounting stress at work making me feel generally uncertain, part the fact that I was still regaining my strength. I wasn’t sure if I was biding my time, or if I’d simply lost the confidence in my own ability.

This past week, I’ve felt my confidence come back in spades, my body responding and my mind reflexively calm and focused on the sharp end. The few lead climbs I’ve put in felt strong and unhesitant, and today’s I paid a visit to the new bouldering area I discovered yesterday while biking through a national park just down the road from my new place. Even without a crash pad, I felt confident highballing on some of the easier 20′ vertical problems. Meantime, I finally went and bought a guidebook to Nowra, one of the most popular local sport crags, and I’m getting outdoor climbing partners lined up.

For the first time since I got here, I feel like I’m actually starting to climb again.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    are you going to be there still in Feb? I might come by post NZ 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    are you going to be there still in Feb? I might come by post NZ 🙂

  3. muffster says:

    FINALLY!!!! i am so glad you are settling in meeting people and living life according to you!
    post more climbing pics please 😀

  4. Anonymous says:

    FINALLY!!!! i am so glad you are settling in meeting people and living life according to you!

    post more climbing pics please 😀

Leave a Reply

