Retro

Posted: May 15, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’m shamefaced to say that until last night, I had never even heard the Smashing Pumpkins’ first album “Gish”. While it’s not as instantly catchy as some of their singles from Siamese Dream, it’s still one hell of an album. Add to it the fact that the sound is such a distinct one of the early 90s grunge/alt wave, and I immediately got that warm fuzzy feeling of nostalgia, with sense-memories of Pearl Jam, REM, STP, and the days when people were feeling passionate about the music itself, rather than just ownership rights to it.

Speaking of Seattle’s cultural influences, I’m working on learning how to steam my own milk for lattes. It’s surprisingly temperamental, which is unfortunate considering I’m usually half-awake when I try it.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    the asian dude from smashing pumpkins I see all the time at this one sushi place in town and only when i go to this said sushi place.. its sort of odd.

  2. Anonymous says:

    the asian dude from smashing pumpkins I see all the time at this one sushi place in town and only when i go to this said sushi place.. its sort of odd.

    • Anonymous says:

      Nice. Apparently he used to kick around Portland a lot too, George said he’d see him around town. Dude can play.

Leave a Reply

