SEE?!?

Posted: April 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

While shopping online for a clothes dryer, I came across this interesting little tidbit from a government report released last year:

One in seven (14%) NSW households with an electric clothes dryer, reported never using it. Where households had access to an outdoor clothes line most used it.

Source: Domestic Water and Energy Use, NSW, Oct 2006

That’s right, 1 in 7 Australians who own dryers never actually use them. And this doesn’t even account for those without a dryer at all, which according to the same government agency is merely half of them. Apparently, Australia is so enamored with hanging up clothes to dry, they even invented a new clothesline to improve their outdoor clothes drying experience.

Comments
  1. aardammit says:

    Oddly, I miss having a clothesline.
    Then again, I grew up in backwoods Kentucky and we knew to not use it if cold or raining.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oddly, I miss having a clothesline.

    Then again, I grew up in backwoods Kentucky and we knew to not use it if cold or raining.

  3. muffster says:

    ACK!!!! that would just not work for me. I like my clothes all warm and fluffely from being in the dryer.
    on a side note when Thign 1 was a baby we did not have a washer or dryer for some time. it was inconvienent to say the least. I am a master of hand washing… i am totaly impatient on the whole waiting to dry thing.

  4. Anonymous says:

    ACK!!!! that would just not work for me. I like my clothes all warm and fluffely from being in the dryer.

    on a side note when Thign 1 was a baby we did not have a washer or dryer for some time. it was inconvienent to say the least. I am a master of hand washing… i am totaly impatient on the whole waiting to dry thing.

  5. lauralieluv says:

    Not a fan of line-drying, here. My clothes get all stiff and chafe like the dickens. It’s bad for the fabric when it gets that brittle. However, line-drying sheets make excellent gnat catchers in the dead of summer, if you’re into that sort of thing. 🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Not a fan of line-drying, here. My clothes get all stiff and chafe like the dickens. It’s bad for the fabric when it gets that brittle. However, line-drying sheets make excellent gnat catchers in the dead of summer, if you’re into that sort of thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

