I wouldn’t miss this for all the tea… oh, wait

Posted: February 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

Having found myself a nice, cheap duffel bag for my trip, I’m now in the last throes of getting ready to fly to Beijing. It still barely registers that I’m going for some reason; perhaps because I’m still working on wrapping my head around the fact that I now live in Australia. Quite the flurry of newness for three months. I’m still struggling with how to pronounce “Macquarie”, and here I am off somewhere with no hope of even reading the signs to try and pronounce them. My only hope is if it’s at least half as English-friendly as Tokyo was.

As usual, the hotel the company’s putting me up in is fairly swank, although apparently this is almost necessary for things like getting a taxi. And from the map, it’s pretty well smack dab in the middle of it all, including a mere two and a half blocks from Tianamen Square. The guys at the local office have apparently mapped out a whole tour for me, including the Great Wall and the Forbidden City, so if I even do half of it, I won’t be wanting for things to do and see.

I’ve also been resting my liver the past week, as I’m to understand from various travel guides that other than beer, the most common alcohol in China is something called

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    i found less people spoke english there, but maybe thats because my chinese is better then my japanese

  2. Anonymous says:

    i found less people spoke english there, but maybe thats because my chinese is better then my japanese

  3. tina_machina says:

    Allo from South Korea!
    I was just talking with someone who had recently returned from Beijing, and she is a rather sour person who still managed to have a good time. So I think you will be having a VERY good time. My favorite part of her tales was all of things she ate. A list, in no particular order:
    Chicken fetus, dog, scorpion, golden centipede (Stay away), dragonfly, starfish, seahorse, and the ever mysterious “penis”.
    And that was on one stretch of road.
    Have fun!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Allo from South Korea!

    I was just talking with someone who had recently returned from Beijing, and she is a rather sour person who still managed to have a good time. So I think you will be having a VERY good time. My favorite part of her tales was all of things she ate. A list, in no particular order:

    Chicken fetus, dog, scorpion, golden centipede (Stay away), dragonfly, starfish, seahorse, and the ever mysterious “penis”.

    And that was on one stretch of road.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

