Starting fresh for 08

Posted: January 2, 2008 in Uncategorized


First sunrise of 2008

During the new years eve celebrations, Mark, a member of our eclectic party group, said that the first 24 hours of the new year are representative of the coming year, with every 2 hours representing a month. If that’s the case, 2008 is going to be a hell of a year, although apparently I’m going to sleep through most of June and July.

My friend Jen from Oregon stopped into town on a 3-week break from Thailand, and through a little luck and a lot of help from Kelly, my new roommate, both Jen and I managed to score tickets to the sold-out Groove Armada show down on Bondi Beach for the New Years party. This meant missing the fireworks on the harbor this year, but I really didn’t mind since I had plenty of coming opportunities to catch it. This also meant we had a good group of locals to party it up with to ring in the new year.

Bondi was absolutely packed with what seemed like 7000+ people, but the show was excellent, and we danced all night and rang in the new year. Around 3AM, the concert shut down, and we started walking to Ainsley’s place, supposedly not far from the beach. However, it became apparent that we were all exhausted, and Ainsley’s was much further than we’d expected, so when it came up that I was sober and had experience driving in Australia, I became an instant god as we piled into Ainsley’s nearby car to shuttle to her place. The part I didn’t expect was that the car was manual, a yet completely unexplored aspect of driving from the right side of the car, and I probably caused some concern in the party when I exclaimed, “Oh, it’s a manual, fun!” But I settled in and after a couple false starts, having not driven a manual car in years, I worked it out nicely and for my first new act of 2008 I was shuttling a car full of drunks on my maiden voyage driving a manual transmission car in Australia at 4 in the morning, while dodging even more drunks in the street who kept mistaking me for a taxi.

We whiled away the rest of the night at Ainsley’s for the afterparty, then just as the sky was getting light again, our dwindling group walked back down to the beach and watched the sun come up, and finally caught the bus down to Circular Quay just as The Rocks Cafe was setting out tables, where we sat and had coffee and breakfast. Finally around 10:30 we all parted ways, Jen and I heading back to my apartment so I could crash and she could make preparations to leave again that night.

After about 4 hours of sleep, Kelly and I decided what we really needed after the long night was a swim, so we headed down to the beach at Balmoral and swam until dinnertime. Heading back, Kelly asked a couple of her neighbors over for dinner, Jen got back from getting a bus ticket, and we all sat out on the balcony as the sun went down eating pizza and drinking wine. We rounded out the day dropping Jen at the bus station, and finally crashed around midnight.

So far, 2008 is looking pretty damned good.

Comments
  1. mortava says:

    I look forward to your posts!
    Sounds like your NYE was great. 🙂 Happy New Year, ‘Ooben!
    *squeeeeze*

  2. Anonymous says:

    I look forward to your posts!

    Sounds like your NYE was great. 🙂 Happy New Year, ‘Ooben!
    *squeeeeze*

  3. Anonymous says:

    Aussie appliances
    does the refrigerator have a butter warmer?

  4. Anonymous says:

    Aussie appliances

    does the refrigerator have a butter warmer?

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Aussie appliances

      That would be handy, but they don’t actually make those, do they? I’ve certainly never seen one.

Leave a Reply

