How’d you like to spend Christmas…

Posted: December 18, 2007 in Uncategorized

I’ve been pondering what to do about my Christmas vacation, since up until today, I’d barely stopped to ponder what to do with this sudden week-long vacation. I looked at flights to Cairns, Alice Springs, New Zealand, Thailand, and everything is naturally way more than I want to pay being short notice and a holiday. Then, something impulsive clicked. And I searched. And it turns out, Christmas Island is in fact a province of Australia, off the northwestern coast. Only problem is, none of the flight booking websites have Christmas Island Airport as a destination option.

So, for the hell of it, I’m going to head to a travel agency and see if I can’t just take a hint from Jimmy Buffett and spend Christmas on Christmas Island. I mean really, why the hell not?

EDIT: Well, there’s only two flights weekly from Perth, and the Christmas Eve flight, the only one I could make, is booked solid (unsurprisingly). Not to mention that the flight itself is around $1900AU round trip. So, looks like I’ll be renting a car over Christmas instead and doing some exploring. I really should see about doing this next year though. Especially if I can catch part of the annual red crab migration.

Leave a Reply

