Cleaning up

Posted: November 20, 2007 in Uncategorized

As of yesterday, for the first time in more than 10 years, I no longer have a bed of my own. I have a house but no furniture, just an echoing space with dust bunnies in the corners and a stack of boxes in the middle of the living room. I spent a little time tonight after a trip to the coast with Lucy and some friends throwing out a few more things and packing some essentials for the next couple days. Tomorrow will be a busy one, taking the remaining stuff either to Goodwill or Shelly’s place, cancelling utilities and credit cards, finishing packing up the stuff to be freighted over, and maybe some cleanup of the house.

It’s a lot of work to nearly erase yourself from the material world if you’re not willing to just set fire to it all.

I’m getting increasingly nervous as Friday grows closer and the reality of this happening gets stronger. I’m not going on vacation, or an extended trip. This is me completely changing my life. Australia is my western frontier; I go only with a few posessions and the promise of a job. Whether it will keep me or send me packing will be down strictly to my determination.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    From Becky
    I told you not to get all emotional, then I start getting all emotional. You will be fine, but then again you know that. I am excited for you. My tips would be to brush up on the language before you leave and don’t drop the soap.
    Good luck, Kisses,
    Becky

  2. Anonymous says:

    From Becky

    I told you not to get all emotional, then I start getting all emotional. You will be fine, but then again you know that. I am excited for you. My tips would be to brush up on the language before you leave and don’t drop the soap.

    Good luck, Kisses,

    Becky

  3. tokori says:

    Its not much different then the US, everyone speaks english, so that makes life a lot easier.
    youll be fine.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Its not much different then the US, everyone speaks english, so that makes life a lot easier.

    youll be fine.

  5. muffster says:

    I hated saying good bye today. and i will hate it again if i see you Thursday. However this is your western frontier. this is the future, your future. an opportunity to go forth in this life with the intent to live with out regret. give it 6 months and it will be your home there.
    the best part is that with everywhere you go with every life you touch you grow your hearts family. you have more connections with more people who care about you, who bring you more lessons, more joy, more answers and more opportunities. All i know is that life is about finding some kind of humor in all of it some how.
    You know how i believe…
    LIVE OUT LOUD!!!!!!!!!!!!
    xoxoxooxox

  6. Anonymous says:

    I hated saying good bye today. and i will hate it again if i see you Thursday. However this is your western frontier. this is the future, your future. an opportunity to go forth in this life with the intent to live with out regret. give it 6 months and it will be your home there.

    the best part is that with everywhere you go with every life you touch you grow your hearts family. you have more connections with more people who care about you, who bring you more lessons, more joy, more answers and more opportunities. All i know is that life is about finding some kind of humor in all of it some how.

    You know how i believe…

    LIVE OUT LOUD!!!!!!!!!!!!

    xoxoxooxox

Leave a Reply

