Back in the groove

Posted: August 9, 2007 in Uncategorized

Even after being back from Hawaii for five days, I still miss the vibe. Don’t get me wrong, there’s plenty about it that still drives me mad, like the fact that the simple act of buying milk on a Sunday becomes a half-day undertaking, but despite all the things that I disliked then and now, it still feels kind of like home, and it still makes up a big part of me. Wearing a swimsuit and no shoes all day is still hands down my favorite way to dress, and feels the most normal to me. The mixed smell of decaying vegitation, freshly fallen fermenting fruit, salt from the sea, and sun-baked rock and grasses combine into a sweet scent that triggers old memories.

The week there was almost frantic for Hawaii time, since it was ‘s first time to the islands, and I wanted him to see “the good stuff”. But really, rushing too much simply wouldn’t be a trip to Hawaii. Nonetheless, we managed to work in a proper introduction to hula and Hawaiian music at the Mauna Lani, snorkelling, driving around the island, going to Volcano, eating on the ocean at Huggo’s, touring around Oahu, drinks at Duke’s, surfing at Waikiki, and dinner on Hapuna beach at sunset. And of course plenty of plate lunch, loco moco, and fresh ahi poke.

It was exactly what I needed.

Leave a Reply

