Weekend update

Posted: May 26, 2007 in Uncategorized

The past week was rather nerve-racking, and it’s not over yet. I’m headed to Boston on Tuesday to begin the first lab move I’ve been the point man on. I’ll essentially have two days to get an entire lab relocated and set back up in a newly-constructed space. I think until it’s all said and done, I won’t be able to shake the nasty feeling that I’ve missed something extremely crucial and the entire thing will backfire worse than a Guns N Roses tour. It doesn’t help that if things go south and I have to stay longer, I’ll miss my birthday party the following weekend.

I’m trying desperately not to think about it for at least the next couple days so I can try to enjoy my weekend. Which, incidentally, will be spent at least in part up in Portland as of tomorrow. It’s been quite a while since I’ve wandered around Portland, and even longer since I’ve gone to places like Kennedy School or the classic video game arcade who’s name escapes me.

Meantime, still no word on when I’m supposed to move. I’ve been gradually culling through my stuff, passing on a few items here and there to people and doing a mental checklist of what needs to go. I’ve decided to take the path of ridding myself of nearly all of my furniture and simply taking clothes, books and DVDs, outdoor gear, and what electronics I can get to work over there. I’m actually kind of looking forward to going super-minimalist, though I think subconsciously I would also as soon set fire to most things in my house than have to pack them.

The shoulder is improving little by little, even to the point that I’ve been doing some light climbing again about once a week. I went up to Rocky Butte last weekend and did some light-duty toproping, and today I did about 45 minutes of traversing in the gym, where was actually able to hang off an incline by my right arm. It was extremely encouraging, but it definitely let me know I still have a ways to go before I’m pulling down hard again.

So, on with the show. Hopefully Boston will go over with only minor turbulence. At the very least, I’ll get to wear this shirt around the city:

Leave a Reply

