OMGWTFBBQBURGER

Posted: April 6, 2007 in Uncategorized

Pretty much everywhere you go, there’s a food moment that makes you go, “Wait, what?” Certain cultural differences make for some very unexpected food combinations, and I finally found Australia’s. While I’ve been sampling the local cuisine, from barramundi fish fillets to kangaroo steaks, I’d not yet had just a simple burger. So today, while being taken around the north coast by my very generous hosts Adrian and Becky, we stopped off in Manly for lunch, and decided I could really dig a burger.

On arrival, this burger was huge. I mean, wish-I-could-unhinge-my-jaw kind of huge. And from initial examination, it appeared to be half made up of limp bacon. This was not bacon for flavor, this was bacon vs. beef, and beef was faltering badly.

This, however, was not the WTF moment.

The buger patty itself, once located, was made up of an almost 2-1 ratio of beef and diced onions. It actually made the patty quite tasty, if structurally unstable.

This, still, was not the moment.

No, that moment came as I lifted the burger to take a bite, and noticed something red inside, something that definitely wasn’t an onion. I carefully pried open the burger a bit, and my brain took a second to understand that there, nestled in the BBQ sauce, was a giant cooked beet slice nearly the diameter of the burger itself.

Now, when it comes to food, I like to think of myself as open-minded, and a fan of culinary experimentalism. And I did in fact eat the entire beet-ridden burger, which was actually pretty tasty. But as a red-meat-blooded American, it mystifies me that someone would think to put a giant slab of beet in a buger. My companions even confirmed that this was a very common national practice.

So congratulations Australia, you have effectively blown Canada out of the water for Weirdest Addition to a Hamburger.

Comments
  1. rusulki says:

    What is this Canadian burger addition you speak of? I thought they drew the line at poutine.

  2. Anonymous says:

    What is this Canadian burger addition you speak of? I thought they drew the line at poutine.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Easter Weekend
    What are your plans for the weekend? Aug & Deb and I are off to Mauna Kea

    • Reuben says:

      Re: Easter Weekend
      Decided to stay around the city for the long weekend, so yesterday was shopping in Darling Harbor and the Taronga Zoo, and today it looks like I’m gonna head back to Katoomba to catch the climbing festival. Tomorrow I’m probably going to catch up with my co-worker Stephen for a BBQ and possibly Adrian and Becky again for a Chinese-style meal called Yum Cha.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Easter Weekend

    What are your plans for the weekend? Aug & Deb and I are off to Mauna Kea

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Easter Weekend

      Decided to stay around the city for the long weekend, so yesterday was shopping in Darling Harbor and the Taronga Zoo, and today it looks like I’m gonna head back to Katoomba to catch the climbing festival. Tomorrow I’m probably going to catch up with my co-worker Stephen for a BBQ and possibly Adrian and Becky again for a Chinese-style meal called Yum Cha.

Leave a Reply

