Where’s your amulet of healing now?

Posted: February 15, 2007 in Uncategorized

As I continue to rehab my shoulder and quell the occasional urge to pound the keyboard with my forehead after taking half an hour to type a two-paragraph email response with one hand, I find my greatest savior from utterly languishing immobile depression has been my recent obsession with Morrowind on the Xbox, courtesy of Lucy’s Christmas gift. Unable to do much of anything that normally keeps me otherwise occupied and content, and the idiot box being entertaining for only so long, I’ve found that not only does the console controller work nicely for me while my arm is crooked at my side in the sling, I can pretend I’m doing many of the things I’m currently prevented from doing, like running, snowboarding, climbing things, and raiding dwarven caverns to collect magic relics.

On the upside, my PT on Monday was overall positive, and I may be back in action by mid-April, just in time to catch the tail end of the spring snow season, and get in some spring climbing before summer makes Smith unbearably hot. Til then, it’s more gaming for me, and doing what little exercise I can to not become a bloated sofa manatee.

There, that only took 3 hours to type.

Comments
  1. somechick says:

    Was just thinking about you this morning and wondering if you were going batshit stircrazy! I hope it continues to go smoothly, and that the time flies until you’re able to go play again.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Was just thinking about you this morning and wondering if you were going batshit stircrazy! I hope it continues to go smoothly, and that the time flies until you’re able to go play again.

  3. Anonymous says:

    thy salvation lies….
    in the crack of the couch. If you can’t find the amulet of healing in there, there may be some stale pringles you can draw strength from. What other endeavors can you pursue with one hand. How about bowling? Anything to keep you from your not-too-distant state of fatness (which as envision it, involves you donning your purple spandex pants and descending on Wall-Mart like a gargantuan mound of slithering lardness, swallowing small children and stand-alone merchandise displays in your path..)
    Better get climbing…
    Ben

  4. Anonymous says:

    thy salvation lies….

    in the crack of the couch. If you can’t find the amulet of healing in there, there may be some stale pringles you can draw strength from. What other endeavors can you pursue with one hand. How about bowling? Anything to keep you from your not-too-distant state of fatness (which as envision it, involves you donning your purple spandex pants and descending on Wall-Mart like a gargantuan mound of slithering lardness, swallowing small children and stand-alone merchandise displays in your path..)

    Better get climbing…
    Ben

  5. konot says:

    the sound of one hand typing
    so that somewhat explains the lack of posts to LJ. glad to hear you are mending, more or less. if I get laid up, I’m think I would devote my digital entertainment on ‘Civilization’. I’m still hoping my ribs will allow me to get in a few runs in Aspen before the end of March.

  6. Anonymous says:

    the sound of one hand typing

    so that somewhat explains the lack of posts to LJ. glad to hear you are mending, more or less. if I get laid up, I’m think I would devote my digital entertainment on ‘Civilization’. I’m still hoping my ribs will allow me to get in a few runs in Aspen before the end of March.

Leave a Reply

