Like Jackie Chan, but with self-asskicking

Posted: February 1, 2007 in Uncategorized

All day people have been asking about my snowboarding trip to Bachelor yesterday. My pat answer has been simply, “It was great, right up until about 2:30.” Because right around 2:30, I hit the last jump on the small terrain park after a killer day of fast runs and crystal-clear weather, caught an edge, and landed on my right shoulder very, very hard.

The first thing I did as was prod at my collarbone, fully prepared to be thoroughly pissed off if I managed to break it twice in a row. No, no flexing like last time, the collarbone felt intact. But something hurt like hell nonetheless. A quick visit with the ski patrol later, I decided my best option was going to be a handful of Advil, a makeshift sling, and sitting out the bus ride back to Eugene before hitting the ER. Besides, from my last shoulder-smashing ER experience, I knew by visiting the Bend hospital I’d just get a handful of Advil, a new sling, and miss the bus to Eugene.

Seven hours later, I leave Urgent Care with a formal diagnosis of a grade II AC separation and a bottle of Vicodin. And with that, I’m out of commission for 2-3 months, the first two weeks in a sling. No trip to Aspen, no trip to Meadows, no climbing, and hardly any exercise for weeks.

I think I’m headed for insanity.


This illustration provided to you as an unnecessarily graphic example

Comments
  1. aardammit says:

    For the record I was over 100 miles away!

  2. Anonymous says:

    For the record I was over 100 miles away!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oooowie 😦

Leave a Reply

