(Not) Just like the ones I used to know

Posted: December 27, 2006 in Uncategorized

Christmas has become an odd holiday for me. Of all the holidays, it’s probably maintained its feeling of tradition the most, with the widespread decorations, non-stop Christmas music everywhere you go, and the whole world shutting down for a day and a half. Yet I haven’t had a “traditional” Christmas in at least 5-6 years; I can’t actually remember the last time I was with family for Christmas. While I do miss it and want to do a proper Christmas agian, the past several Christmases I’ve taken the opportunity to do something different with the holiday off while the crowds are back home, playing with their gifts and lounging around in their pajamas. Year before last it was cross-country skiing at a normally busy sno-park, with empty trails and fresh powder. Last year it was staying at the Sylvia Beach hotel on the coast, wandering along empty beaches and reading in the library with mulled wine.

This year, while not quite so quiet and devoid of people, I headed up to Benson Sno Park by Hoodoo with Lynda and Dave and played in the snow, because I’ve had more than my share of snowless Christmases in Hawaii, and apart from an inch or two in Ireland, Lynda had never seen snow before. While we were rolling up snowballs and wading through snow up to our knees, it occurred to me that for me, simply playing in the snow makes Christmas feel like Christmas, and I don’t know why. I can count on one hand the number of Christmases I’ve had with snow on the ground, including the ones I can’t even remember. But for whatever reason, digging snow forts and making snow angels like I’m six is all I really need for my Christmas.

Leave a Reply

