Posted: December 11, 2006 in Uncategorized

After last season, I’m much more confident in my snowboarding, and I’m looking forward to the season more than past years. Last year I did every run on Hoodoo except the double diamond off the back, and almost every run at Willamette Pass. This after having previously gone down a total of two black diamonds over the few years I’d been boarding, mostly as a victim of gravity.

Thankfully, my first trip to the mountain of the season confirmed that it all stuck with me during the offseason, and I took right to it again, legs and feet burning from disuse but still keeping me from faceplanting. Unfortunately, between the light snowpack, wet falling snow, frozen runs, and wind whipping the backside of the mountain like a nun with a grudge, my options were rather limited all day to a few protected slopes. But conditions aside, it was a great way to spend a Sunday.

I’m really focusing on getting out and doing these things again. Over the past few months I’ve gained about 10 lbs. and I just don’t feel that same energy and satisfaction I used to. Sitting at the deserted summit of Hoodoo, the wind whipping at me and the snow under me better suited to an ice axe than a snowboard, I wished I had gear so I could board down the closed-off backside and climb back up it, if only because I would be the only one.

Funny how my mind works.

Leave a Reply

