Good Will Leaving

Posted: October 15, 2006 in Uncategorized

For me, there’s a certain level of sleep, usually between two to four hours, that does my body almost more harm than good. Struggling back into consciousness, every muscle in my body feels like it’s vibrating, shuddering faintly in protest at the awful trick that’s been played on it. Neurons struggle to form a pattern of control again, making every motion from the moment my feet hit the floor a matter of sheer will. Of course, having gone to bed drunk doesn’t help either.

For the most part, my visit to Boston involved very little of Boston itself, apart from what I could see from the office and the proliferation of Boston accents in the bar after work. So in the interest of minimizing travel time for our 8 AM flight back home, and getting a little time in the city, we checked into a hotel by the airport and instructed a cab to take us to one of the better restaurants in the north end. We wound up on a street lined with any number of Italian restaurants, picked one that the cabbie had recommended, and downed some lobster and a bottle of wine.

Wandering a bit further after dinner, we found a cluster of bars and picked the busiest one, called The Purple Shamrock. The crowd and the drinks were nothing remarkable, but after only some 15 minutes, something truly remarkable happened. The stage, empty when we came in, was occupied by a fairly dumpy looking man in a newsboy cap and a Hawaiian shirt, slung with an accoustic guitar. Starting with giving away two dozen beers, he proceeded to get the entire bar of college kids amped to, I shit you not, Neil Diamond, Van Morrison, and Simon and Garfunkel. The most crowded college bar on the street, and they’re going apeshit over “Cecelia”.

After marvelling at this oddity a while, we hit one more bar before calling it a night around two. Experience had left me with the forethought to lay out everything for the next morning before we went out, and four hours later I was glad for it, as I forced myself out of bed and off to my flight home.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Boston’s always intrigued me. Berklee is there, and during my senior year I considered applying. Alas, it was a tad too rich for my blood.
    Glad you had a good trip.
    -Blake

  2. Anonymous says:

    Boston’s always intrigued me. Berklee is there, and during my senior year I considered applying. Alas, it was a tad too rich for my blood.

    Glad you had a good trip.
    -Blake

Leave a Reply

