That’s Right, You’re Not From Texas

Posted: September 10, 2006 in Uncategorized

I have been in Houston three times now. The first time was only in passing, as I was on my way from Hawaii to Florida to spend a week with my grade-school best friend Curt. On the way to Houston I sat next to and somehow wound up talking to a devestatingly beautiful script reviewer for Oliver Stone. I remember desperately wishing as she walked down the row that she would take the empty seat next to me, and lo and behold by that little twist of fate, she did. She was wearing some sort of black velour jacket, carrying a bag full of scripts and a copy of The Light Princess, and she smelled great. We talked movies from LA to Houston, and as we deplaned for our Houston layover, she staggeringly stuck with me, and we spent the entire Houston layover together. Then, as unexpectedly as the whole thing had started, we boarded the flight to Palm Springs, went to our respective rows, and that was the last I saw of her.

My second trip to Houston was my very first business trip. It was early October, and I was instructed to go buy a business suit for the trip, which I would not be reimbursed for. So I got outfitted for a suit, dutifully wore it for our visit with the customer, where we stuck out like sore thumbs among everyone else in khakis and polos, and sweated intensely every time we set foot outside. For this, my third trip, I’ve come a bit better prepared, but nonetheless I’ve already gotten lost twice just getting to the hotel and my baggage appears to have made the trip lying on its side in a puddle, although that side may simply have been exposed to Houston air a bit longer than the rest of it.

So far, trip #1 is still winning.

Comments
  1. zevhonith says:

    I love the Light Princess. I didn’t know anyone else knew about it.

    • Reuben says:

      It does seem to have a selective readership. I found it endearing that while most people bring fat NYT bestsellers of the week, she had this whimsical children’s book for the plane.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love the Light Princess. I didn’t know anyone else knew about it.

    • Anonymous says:

      It does seem to have a selective readership. I found it endearing that while most people bring fat NYT bestsellers of the week, she had this whimsical children’s book for the plane.

Leave a Reply

