Posted: September 9, 2006 in Uncategorized

What does one do when the girlfriend is out of town for a month and summer is still in full swing? Why, clean, climb, and catch up on sleep, of course. Well, that and a lot of driving for Labor Day.

A couple weeks back Lucy headed home for a month to that huge, flat expanse of nonstop excitement that is the American midwest, and I’ve been left to my own devices. While this has hurt both my social life and alcohol tolerance, I certainly haven’t been bored. Week one was that initial reaction period to suddenly having no social demands on me, spent thoroughly cleaning things, playing Doom 3, and eating single-serving food that others may or may not be repulsed by. Thankfully that wore off just in time to put some time into climbing, first at the columns, then during a two-day trip to Smith. My overall climbing game has definitely been set back a few notches by this year’s lack of time on the rock, but really, I just love being out there in any capacity.

Since 5 hours of driving apparently wasn’t enough for a 4-day weekend, I loaded back into the car on Sunday and drove to Seattle for Bumbershoot, a large but now rather overpriced arts and music festival. I didn’t get nearly as much time as I would’ve liked to, but between the film festival, hip-hop showcase stage, and Steve Miller Band set, it was worth the trip.

Unfortunately the following week was non-stop hell at work, but tomorrow I’m off to Houston til Wednesday. Sometime in the next few days I fully intend to be eating the biggest steak I can find while wearing a “Don’t Mess With Texas” t-shirt. I may even run for president.

Leave a Reply

