When I grow up…

Posted: July 28, 2006 in Uncategorized

Day before yesterday I paid a visit to a mortgage consultant as the beginning of a serious foray into homeownership. This type of meeting is kind of an emotional rollercoaster for a number of reasons, not the least of which is the money involved. I do okay for income, but with housing costs in Eugene the way they have been and likely will be for a while, trying to afford anything other than a shack in the meth district is daunting. At the same time, I know from research, advice, and living proof that real estate is one of the best investments you can make, and I really feel the need to give myself some equity for that day when I’m kidnapped by Columbian seperatists and my relatives need to raise ransom money.

But there’s also the purely emotional aspect to the whole thing. Buying a house is one of those mental ticks in your timeline, a milestone of progressing adulthood and responsibility. Even as just an investment, it tethers you; at this moment, the better part of my physical net worth would fit in my car and can go where I go. With a house, I am not only committing myself to a location, but also to the need for financial stability. Ignoring the fact that I’ve been renting the same house for some 6+ years, I’d always harbored the idea that I would at some point move out of Eugene and put in my time living in one of those bright spots on a nighttime shot of the US from space. Buying a house by no means eliminates this from happening; if anything it simply makes me question whether doing what I want and doing what is safe are the same thing.

Comments
  1. annaanna says:

    see here’s the thing .. i felt old when we bought the house .. but we’re selling after only two years, and we’ve made a reasonable profit off of it. so there’s nothing that says that you buy it and sell it later – and take the equity with you.

    • Reuben says:

      You guys are selling? I thought you’d be in there for a while. Different neighborhood for you, or just a new space?

      • annaanna says:

        both .. better neighborhood with less crappy neighbors, and better layout. there’s not enough room in the den for two couches, a dog kennel and a playpen (ironically enough). gotta have room for all the kids! πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    see here’s the thing .. i felt old when we bought the house .. but we’re selling after only two years, and we’ve made a reasonable profit off of it. so there’s nothing that says that you buy it and sell it later – and take the equity with you.

    • Anonymous says:

      You guys are selling? I thought you’d be in there for a while. Different neighborhood for you, or just a new space?

      • Anonymous says:

        both .. better neighborhood with less crappy neighbors, and better layout. there’s not enough room in the den for two couches, a dog kennel and a playpen (ironically enough). gotta have room for all the kids! πŸ™‚

  3. tokori says:

    I own a bunch of commercial property but buying a house Im scared shitless to do for a long long time, mostly because of my fear of personal commitment I think.. but then again, someone said a few days ago that the most brillant things come from moments of fear when we go into them instead of run away..

  4. Anonymous says:

    I own a bunch of commercial property but buying a house Im scared shitless to do for a long long time, mostly because of my fear of personal commitment I think.. but then again, someone said a few days ago that the most brillant things come from moments of fear when we go into them instead of run away..

  5. muffster says:

    “if anything it simply makes me question whether doing what I want and doing what is safe are the same thing.”
    this is something you will continue to ask yourself for the rest of your life. I do. sometimes on a dayly basis. sometimes the safe thing is the right thing and sometimes you have to throw all caution to the wind and follow your heart, even when it takes you to the most fucked up places. my quote for today is “Stop playing it safe by trying to avoid adversity. Act from the heart and let circumstances unfold how they will.” all things that are worth having are worth walking through hell to get. we tend to avoid things that make us physicaly or emotionaly uncomfortable. when we do that we cheat ourselves out of our potential.
    ~damn i am on a roll today πŸ™‚

  6. Anonymous says:

    “if anything it simply makes me question whether doing what I want and doing what is safe are the same thing.”

    this is something you will continue to ask yourself for the rest of your life. I do. sometimes on a dayly basis. sometimes the safe thing is the right thing and sometimes you have to throw all caution to the wind and follow your heart, even when it takes you to the most fucked up places. my quote for today is “Stop playing it safe by trying to avoid adversity. Act from the heart and let circumstances unfold how they will.” all things that are worth having are worth walking through hell to get. we tend to avoid things that make us physicaly or emotionaly uncomfortable. when we do that we cheat ourselves out of our potential.

    ~damn i am on a roll today πŸ™‚

    • Anonymous says:

      i’m going with the ‘whatever makes you happy that doesn’t involve work from me’ plan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

