“I’m gonna relax if it kills me”

Posted: July 6, 2006 in Uncategorized

I think I’m getting the hang of the new camera, and wow, not bad for a tiny little thing


Written journal entry
Kona, Hawaii – 6/30/06

Something about being a tourist seems to bring out either the best or the worst in a person, sometimes both. When my uncle Jeff came to Hawaii on vacation, he became a much more relaxed and upbeat guy, the one I remembered from our family reunions at Crescent Lake. But on this trip, I’ve seen two women go apeshit over nothing, blowing up from an inflated sense of entitlement. I can’t even comprehend the mindset of coming here on vacation, or anywhere for that matter, and feeling the need to make a scene over a chicken taquito. How unhapy of a life must these people lead that they can’t even be happy when they go somewhere beautiful strictly to relax and have fun?

Leave a Reply

