Low-tech blogging

Posted: June 24, 2006 in Uncategorized

Somewhere amidst the gadget-mongering, technosexual, wirelessly wired lifestyle, I find myself wanting simpler things. As I’ve gotten more and more used to recording my thoughts and impressions via this very blog, I also find it to be very difficult to do so while travelling light, which is my preferred method of travel and which I have gotten better and better at. Also with the proliferation of computers and internet access, I’ve geared myself towards relying less on having my own technology with me and simply making use of what is at hand. But these things aren’t always at hand when I want to record what is on my mind that a simple photograph just won’t capture.

So with a nod to the long tradition that “blogging” was founded on, I’m going to pick up a small, bound book of lined paper for, of all things, handwriting journal entries when a computer isn’t available or feasible. Who knows, I may even use it. Especially during times like now when I’ve travelled 2500+ miles to the tropics in the summertime, simply to sit in front of a computer. I’m pretty sure that’s illegal in some countries. Or at least should be.

On that note, as of yesterday I’m back in Hawaii for a week and change on vacation, with much sun and hopefully wrestling large ahi at the end of a spool of 30 lb. test to come.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    dear god i think i just fainted. you? a paper journal?? *gasp* welcome to my most wonderful and peacful and private world. or realy rather, welcome to your own. I hope you enjoy it.
    have fun in hawaii…please bring some musbi for me ๐Ÿ˜€
    Big Hugs

    • Anonymous says:

      Thing is, it likely wouldn’t be any more private than my blog, and I’d probably transfer a lot of it to LJ when I had the chance. It would just let me get my thoughts down while they were fresh, or even just before I completely forgot them.
      And no worries, there will be much musubi coming back with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Reuben says:

      Whoops, that was me forgetting to sign in.

  2. Anonymous says:

    dear god i think i just fainted. you? a paper journal?? *gasp* welcome to my most wonderful and peacful and private world. or realy rather, welcome to your own. I hope you enjoy it.

    have fun in hawaii…please bring some musbi for me ๐Ÿ˜€

    Big Hugs

    • Anonymous says:

      Thing is, it likely wouldn’t be any more private than my blog, and I’d probably transfer a lot of it to LJ when I had the chance. It would just let me get my thoughts down while they were fresh, or even just before I completely forgot them.

      And no worries, there will be much musubi coming back with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Anonymous says:

      Whoops, that was me forgetting to sign in.

      • Anonymous says:

        hehehhehe

        MMMMMMMMMMM Musubi *Happy Dance*

        when are you comming home? i want to climb!!!!

Leave a Reply

